Captio AI

Captio AI vs Captify

Captio AI and Captify side by side: captions on your phone or in smart glasses, offline use, sound alerts, who is talking, saved transcripts and price.

Facts checked on each company's own pages. How we compare

Captify

by Captify

Captify glasses + iPhone or Android app

vs

Captio AI

Our app

iPhone, iPad, Android

The short answer

Pick Captify if you want captions inside your glasses, so your eyes stay on the person, with free offline captions and sound alerts, and you are ready to buy the glasses (US$499 or US$849 at regular price). Pick Captio AI if you want captions on the phone you already have, with nothing to buy, and want to keep recordings with their audio, transcribe files and get summaries; on iPhone it also names people by their voice.

Choose Captify if

you want captions in your glasses so you can keep looking at the person, need captions with no signal, or want 300+ sounds, like the doorbell, shown in your glasses.

Choose Captio AI if

you want captions on the phone you already have, with no glasses to buy, want to see which side a voice comes from (iPhone 16 and later), or want recordings with audio, file transcription and summaries.

Side by side

Captio AI vs Captify, feature by feature

Tap any fact to see the details and the page it comes from.

Captio AI vs Captify: features compared, facts checked 28 October 2026
Works onCaptio AI
Yes: iPhone, iPad, Android

On the App Store (also listed for Apple silicon Macs and Apple Vision) and on Google Play since October 2026.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing

Captify
Yes: Captify glasses + iPhone or Android app

Captions show in Captify's own glasses (Captify Pro or Captify Light), run by the free Captify Glass app on an iPhone or Android phone. The App Store lists the app for iPhone only, and Captify says a phone is required for captioning.

Sources: Captify Pro: Live Caption Glasses for Deaf & HoH, Frequently asked questions (Captify), Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing, Installing and Connecting the Captify App (Aug 31, 2026) (Captify Help Center)

NeedsCaptio AI
Yes: iOS 15.1 or later

The App Store lists iOS 15.1 or later for iPhone.

Source: Apple App Store listing

Captify
Yes: Captify glasses; iOS 16+ or Android 12+

Captify lists iOS 16 or later and Android 12 or later. The phone has to stay within Bluetooth range of the glasses (about 10 m / 30 feet), because speech is turned into text on the phone.

Sources: Captify Pro: Live Caption Glasses for Deaf & HoH, Frequently asked questions (Captify), Apple App Store listing

Captions people in the roomCaptio AI
Yes, from the phone's microphone

Speech in the room appears as text while the person is still talking.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Captify
Yes, shown in the glasses' lenses

The glasses' two directional microphones, or the phone's microphone, pick up speech nearby, and the captions appear in the lenses, in your line of sight. Captify doesn't say whether the app can caption on the phone screen without the glasses.

Sources: Captify Pro: Live Caption Glasses for Deaf & HoH, Start Captioning with Captify Pro (Jul 28, 2026) (Captify Help Center), Using Live Captioning in Noisy Environments (Aug 31, 2026) (Captify Help Center), Apple App Store listing

Group conversationsCaptio AI
Partly: One phone: speaker labels, names, direction

One phone captions the whole table and labels each speaker. On iPhone it can name people by their voice, and on iPhone 16 and later a wave shows which side a voice comes from. Shared folders let several people add recordings to one place; live captions are not joined across phones.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Recognize voices (Captio AI) (Captio AI), Speaker direction (Captio AI) (Captio AI), Live Captions (Captio AI)

Captify
Partly: Small groups; not several people at once

Captify lists family gatherings and small groups among the places Captify Pro works best, and several people speaking at once, or very loud and crowded places, as not ideal. The glasses' microphones focus on the person in front of you; for a speaker further away you can switch to the phone's microphone.

Sources: Captify Pro: Live Caption Glasses for Deaf & HoH, Using Live Captioning in Noisy Environments (Aug 31, 2026) (Captify Help Center)

Languages for live captionsCaptio AI
Yes: 60+ languages

Captions and translation in 60+ languages, including speech that switches languages mid-sentence.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Captify
Yes: 80+ (Captify Pro); 30+ offline

Captify lists 80+ languages and regional variants for Captify Pro and Captify Light, with more coming soon. Its subscription page counts 30+ languages for free offline captions. The older Captify Myvu supports 13 languages.

Sources: Captify Pro: Live Caption Glasses for Deaf & HoH, Captify Light, Captify pricing page, Frequently asked questions (Captify)

Live captions without internetCaptio AI
Partly: Records offline, captions later

Live captions need internet. Without a connection it keeps recording and transcribes automatically when the phone is back online.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Captify
Yes, offline model in 30+ languages

Captify says no internet is needed: captions can run on an offline model, and the free plan has unlimited offline captions in 30+ languages. An online model can be chosen in Settings. A help article says real-time translation needs internet, while the subscription page lists free offline translation in 20+ languages.

Sources: Captify Pro: Live Caption Glasses for Deaf & HoH, Captify pricing page, Start Captioning with Captify Pro (Jul 28, 2026) (Captify Help Center), How to Turn On Translation on Captify Pro (Aug 31, 2026) (Captify Help Center)

Shows who is talkingCaptio AI
Yes, live and saved; names by voice on iPhone

Separates speakers (Speaker 1, Speaker 2). On iPhone it can learn saved voices and show their names instead.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Recognize voices (Captio AI) (Captio AI), Live Captions (Captio AI)

Captify
Partly: Added Feb 2026; listed as Premium

The App Store release notes added speaker labelling in February 2026, and Captify's comparison page lists speaker labeling for Captify Pro. The subscription page lists speaker differentiation as part of the Premium plan, which it marks Coming Soon.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Comparison: Captify Pro and Captify (Captify), Captify pricing page, Frequently asked questions (Captify)

Remembers people's voicesCaptio AI
Yes, Recognize Voices (iPhone)

Save someone's voice once (about 20 seconds of talking, or an audio file) and their name and emoji show on every line they say, live and in saved recordings, instead of "Speaker 2". Voiceprints are made on the iPhone and never uploaded. When someone new talks for a while, Captio AI asks who it is. Free plan: your own voice plus one other person; Plus: more people.

Source: Recognize voices (Captio AI) (Captio AI)

Captify
Not stated
Shows where a voice comes fromCaptio AI
Yes, on iPhone 16 and later

With the iPhone flat on the table, a wave grows at the edge of the captions on the side the voice comes from, in that speaker's colour, while new words appear. It uses the iPhone's spatial microphones (not AirPods or an external mic), works in Live Captions and Live Translator, is calculated on the phone, and is free.

Source: Speaker direction (Captio AI) (Captio AI)

Captify
Not stated
Alerts for soundsCaptio AI
Yes, sounds in the captions; alerts vibrate

Recognize Sounds (iPhone and iPad) writes sounds into the captions where they happen, like [doorbell rings], in Live Captions, Live Translator and uploaded files. A doorbell, knocking, a smoke alarm, a siren, a phone ringing or a baby crying makes the phone vibrate, with a notification when the screen is locked during a recording. It works while Captio AI is recording, not as an always-on alarm. Recognized on the phone; free; not on Android yet.

Source: Recognize sounds (Captio AI) (Captio AI)

Captify
Yes, 300+ sounds, on the free plan

Non-speech sounds such as doorbells, sirens, laughter, applause, alarms and music are shown in the glasses. The subscription page counts 300+ sounds on the free Standard plan; the Captify Light page says 500+.

Sources: Captify pricing page, Using Live Captioning in Noisy Environments (Aug 31, 2026) (Captify Help Center), Captify Pro: Live Caption Glasses for Deaf & HoH, Captify Light

Live translationCaptio AI
Yes, live, two-way mode

Live translation next to the original captions, with a two-way mode where each person reads the other in their own language.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Translator (Captio AI)

Captify
Yes, live, in the glasses; 80+ languages

Translated captions show in the glasses. Captify's product pages say 80+ languages, a help article (August 2026) says over 40, and says translation needs internet; the subscription page lists free offline translations in 20+ languages. A two-way mode is not described.

Sources: Captify Pro: Live Caption Glasses for Deaf & HoH, How to Turn On Translation on Captify Pro (Aug 31, 2026) (Captify Help Center), Captify pricing page, Apple App Store listing

Saves transcriptsCaptio AI
Yes, with audio, synced

Recordings are saved with their audio in a searchable library and synced to your account.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Captio AI privacy policy

Captify
Yes, in the app; cloud sync is Premium

Transcripts are saved on the app's home screen after each session, sorted into captions and translations. Cloud backup and sync across devices is listed for the Premium plan, marked Coming Soon. Keeping the audio is not described.

Sources: Start Captioning with Captify Pro (Jul 28, 2026) (Captify Help Center), How to Turn On Translation on Captify Pro (Aug 31, 2026) (Captify Help Center), Captify pricing page, Installing and Connecting the Captify App (Aug 31, 2026) (Captify Help Center)

Transcribes audio and video filesCaptio AI
Yes: Audio and video files

Upload audio or video and get a full transcript with speaker labels.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Audio Transcription (Captio AI)

Captify
Not stated

Transcribing an uploaded audio or video file is not described on Captify's pages.

Sources: Captify pricing page, Apple App Store listing

AI summariesCaptio AI
Yes: Summary, key points, to-dos

Turns transcripts into summaries, key points, notes, to-dos and follow-up messages. Free plan: 3 summaries in total.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, AI Summary (Captio AI)

Captify
Partly: Added Jan 2026; listed as Premium

The App Store release notes added conversation summaries in January 2026. The subscription page lists AI summaries, and Ask AI to search your saved conversations, under the Premium plan, marked Coming Soon.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Captify pricing page, Comparison: Captify Pro and Captify (Captify)

Add your own words and namesCaptio AI
Yes, words and names

Add names, medical terms or specialist words so they are recognised.

Source: Live Captions (Captio AI)

Captify
Partly: Custom keywords, online only; Premium

Custom keywords came with app version 1.3.5 (September 2026), online only. The subscription page lists custom word recognition for names and jargon under the Premium plan, marked Coming Soon.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Captify pricing page

Text size and coloursCaptio AI
Yes: Text size, colours, contrast

Text size, background colour and contrast can be adjusted.

Source: Live Captions (Captio AI)

Captify
Yes: 3 text sizes, position, brightness

Captify Pro has three font sizes (Regular, Large, Extra-Large), captions that can move to the top, bottom or sides of your view, adjustable brightness and a high-contrast monochrome display. One of its two displays can be turned off. Captify Light has a single-eye display.

Sources: Frequently asked questions (Captify), Start Captioning with Captify Pro (Jul 28, 2026) (Captify Help Center), How Long Does the Battery Last? (Jul 28, 2026) (Captify Help Center), Captify Light

Where speech is processedCaptio AI
Yes: Cloud; audio not stored on its servers

Speech is processed by third-party speech recognition after you agree. Audio is not stored on Captio AI's servers; content is never sold or used to train AI models.

Source: Captio AI privacy policy

Captify
Partly: On the phone, offline or online

Captify says speech is turned into text on the phone, with Microsoft's speech recognition model, and you choose an offline or an online model. Its privacy policy (March 2025) does not mention audio; the App Store privacy label lists audio data linked to you, and Google Play says no data is shared with third parties.

Sources: Frequently asked questions (Captify), Start Captioning with Captify Pro (Jul 28, 2026) (Captify Help Center), Captify privacy policy, Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing

Account neededCaptio AI
Partly: Optional

Sign in with Apple or Google to sync, or skip and use it on one phone.

Source: Captio AI privacy policy

Captify
Yes: Sign-in with phone number (Myvu guide)

Captify's setup guide for Captify Myvu says to sign in to the app with your phone number and a verification code. The App Store privacy label lists name, email address and user ID.

Sources: Getting Started With Your Captify (Captify Myvu, Aug 31,… (Captify Help Center), Apple App Store listing, Terms of Use (Captify)

Free planCaptio AI
Yes: 100 free credits a day + 3 summaries

Free every day: 100 free credits a day for live captions or transcription, and 3 AI summaries in total.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Captio AI for AI assistants (llms.txt)

Captify
Partly: Free app: unlimited offline captions

The app is free with no in-app purchases on the US App Store. Captify's $0 Standard plan includes unlimited offline captions (30+ languages), offline translation (20+ languages), sound alerts and note-taking. You need Captify glasses, which you buy.

Sources: Captify pricing page, Apple App Store listing, Captify Light

Paid plansCaptio AI
Yes: US$14.99/month or US$79.99/year

Captio AI Plus on the US App Store, October 2026. No free trial. Prices differ by country.

Source: Apple App Store listing

Captify
Yes: Pro US$849, Light US$499; Premium US$15/mo (soon)

Captify's US store, October 2026: Captify Pro US$849 and Captify Light US$499 at regular price (on sale for US$699 and US$399 in late October 2026); new prescription lenses start at US$99. A Premium plan at US$15 a month is announced as Coming Soon; the app is free on the US App Store, with no in-app purchases.

Sources: Captify Pro: Live Caption Glasses for Deaf & HoH, Captify Light, Captify pricing page, How Do I Update My Prescription Lenses? (Aug 31, 2026) (Captify Help Center), Apple App Store listing

Key differences

What actually sets them apart

Where do you read the captions?

In the glasses with Captify, on the phone screen with Captio AI. Captify shows captions in the lenses of its own glasses, in your line of sight, so you can keep looking at the person. Captio AI shows them on the screen of your iPhone, iPad or Android phone.

Sources: Captify Pro: Live Caption Glasses for Deaf & HoH, Start Captioning with Captify Pro (Jul 28, 2026) (Captify Help Center), Using Live Captioning in Noisy Environments (Aug 31, 2026) (Captify Help Center), Apple App Store listing, Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Do you need to buy glasses to use Captify?

Yes. Captify is built around its own glasses: Captify Pro costs US$849 and Captify Light US$499 at regular price on Captify's US store (October 2026), and the Captify Glass app is free. Captio AI needs no extra hardware: it runs on your phone, with 100 free credits a day, or Captio AI Plus at US$14.99 a month.

Sources: Captify Pro: Live Caption Glasses for Deaf & HoH, Captify Light, Captify pricing page, How Do I Update My Prescription Lenses? (Aug 31, 2026) (Captify Help Center), Apple App Store listing, Frequently asked questions (Captify), Google Play listing, Installing and Connecting the Captify App (Aug 31, 2026) (Captify Help Center), Apple App Store listing, Captio AI for AI assistants (llms.txt)

Which one works without internet?

Captify. Its free plan has unlimited offline captions in 30+ languages; Captify's help centre says live translation needs internet. Captio AI needs a connection for live captions; without one it keeps recording and transcribes when the phone is back online.

Sources: Captify Pro: Live Caption Glasses for Deaf & HoH, Captify pricing page, Start Captioning with Captify Pro (Jul 28, 2026) (Captify Help Center), How to Turn On Translation on Captify Pro (Aug 31, 2026) (Captify Help Center), Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Which one tells you about sounds like the doorbell?

Both, in different ways. Captify shows non-speech sounds such as doorbells, sirens, laughter and applause in the glasses, so your eyes stay up, and its subscription page counts 300+ sounds on the free plan. Captio AI's Recognize Sounds writes sounds into the captions on the screen where they happen, like [doorbell rings], from a list of 28, and keeps them in the recording. A doorbell, a smoke alarm or a baby crying also makes the phone vibrate. It works while Captio AI is recording, not as an always-on alarm.

Sources: Captify pricing page, Using Live Captioning in Noisy Environments (Aug 31, 2026) (Captify Help Center), Captify Pro: Live Caption Glasses for Deaf & HoH, Captify Light, Recognize sounds (Captio AI) (Captio AI)

Can Captify tell you who is talking?

With limits. Captify added speaker labelling in February 2026, but its subscription page lists it for a Premium plan marked Coming Soon, and Captify says several people talking at once is not ideal for Captify Pro. Its pages don't describe remembering people's voices or showing where a voice comes from. Captio AI labels each speaker; on iPhone, Recognize Voices shows the names of people whose voices you saved, live and in saved recordings. In Captify's glasses the captions keep your eyes on people; on a phone, Captio AI's Speaker Direction (iPhone 16 and later) shows which side a voice comes from, so you know whose face to look at.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Comparison: Captify Pro and Captify (Captify), Captify pricing page, Frequently asked questions (Captify), Captify Pro: Live Caption Glasses for Deaf & HoH, Using Live Captioning in Noisy Environments (Aug 31, 2026) (Captify Help Center), Apple App Store listing, Recognize voices (Captio AI) (Captio AI), Live Captions (Captio AI), Speaker direction (Captio AI) (Captio AI)

What happens to the conversation afterwards?

Both save it. Captify keeps transcripts in the app; cloud sync and summaries are listed for its Premium plan, marked Coming Soon. Captio AI saves each recording with its audio in a library synced to your account, transcribes files you upload, and writes summaries, key points and to-dos.

Sources: Start Captioning with Captify Pro (Jul 28, 2026) (Captify Help Center), How to Turn On Translation on Captify Pro (Aug 31, 2026) (Captify Help Center), Captify pricing page, Installing and Connecting the Captify App (Aug 31, 2026) (Captify Help Center), Apple App Store listing, Comparison: Captify Pro and Captify (Captify), Apple App Store listing, Captio AI privacy policy, Audio Transcription (Captio AI), AI Summary (Captio AI)

Honest take

Where each one wins

Where Captify is the better choice

Where Captio AI is the better choice

Try Captio AI free

Which one should you use?

It depends on where you are

Captify

You want to look at the person, not a screen

Captify puts the captions in your glasses, in your line of sight. Captio AI shows them on your phone, so you look down to read.

Captions for this situation
Captify

Somewhere with no signal

Captify captions offline in 30+ languages. Captio AI records and transcribes once you are back online.

Captify

At home, waiting for the doorbell

Captify shows sounds like doorbells and sirens in the glasses you wear. Captio AI hears the doorbell only while it is recording: then it writes [doorbell rings] into the captions and the phone vibrates. It is not an always-on doorbell alert.

Captio AI

A doctor's appointment you want to read again

Captio AI keeps the recording with its audio, and you can add medicine names first so they are recognised. On Captify, custom words work online only.

Captions for this situation
Captio AI

A meeting you need notes from

Captio AI labels each speaker, names people by their voice on iPhone, shows which side a voice comes from on iPhone 16 and later, and turns the recording into a summary and to-dos. Captify says several people talking at once is not ideal for it.

Captions for this situation
Captio AI

You don't want to buy new hardware

Captio AI runs on the phone you have, with 100 free credits a day. Captify glasses cost US$499 or US$849 at regular price on Captify's US store (October 2026).

How we compare

Facts you can check, not opinions.

From their own pages

Every fact comes from the company's website, help pages, privacy policy or store listing. Tap any fact to see the page it comes from.

Checked 28 October 2026

Each source has the date we opened it. If a company doesn't say something publicly, the table says "Not stated" instead of guessing.

We make Captio AI

So it's described with the same rules as every other app, limits included, and each page says where the other app is the better choice.

Something out of date? hello@captioai.app

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Do Captify glasses work with an Android phone?

Yes. Captify says its app needs iOS 16 or later or Android 12 or later, and the phone has to stay within Bluetooth range of the glasses. Captio AI also works on iPhone and Android, with no glasses: the captions show on the phone screen.

How much do Captify glasses cost in the US?

On Captify's US store in October 2026, Captify Pro is US$849 and Captify Light US$499 at regular price (on sale for US$699 and US$399 in late October 2026). The app is free, and a US$15 a month Premium plan is announced as Coming Soon. Captio AI needs no hardware: Captio AI Plus is US$14.99 a month or US$79.99 a year on the US App Store, and the free plan gives 100 free credits a day.

Do Captify glasses work offline, on a plane or abroad?

Yes for captions: Captify has an offline model, with unlimited free offline captions in 30+ languages. Its help centre says live translation needs internet. Captio AI needs internet for live captions, and transcribes recordings made offline once you reconnect.

Can Captify glasses translate Spanish to English?

Captify lists live translation into 80+ languages, shown in the glasses, and both Spanish and English are among its languages. A two-way mode is not described. Captio AI translates live in 60+ languages, with a two-way mode where each person reads the other in their own language.

Do Captify glasses work at a family dinner or in a meeting?

Captify says Captify Pro works best one-on-one, at family gatherings and in small groups, and is not ideal when several people speak at once or in very loud places. Its pages don't describe remembering people's voices. Captio AI captions the whole table from one phone and labels each speaker. On iPhone, Recognize Voices shows the names of people whose voices you saved, and on iPhone 16 and later Speaker Direction shows which side of the table a voice comes from.

Can I get Captify glasses with my prescription?

Yes. Captify offers single vision, reading and progressive lenses, from -20.00 to +6.00 with astigmatism on Captify Pro, and new prescription lenses start at US$99. Captio AI shows captions on your phone screen, so there are no lenses to choose.

Can I use FSA, HSA or insurance to buy Captify in the US?

Yes. Captify accepts FSA and HSA cards at checkout, and vision insurance that covers out-of-network glasses may pay you back. Captio AI has no government funding programme; organisations can get licences through captioai.app/organizations.

Does Captify caption phone calls?

Captify's comparison page lists phone call transcription for Captify Pro, but no Captify page explains how it works. Captio AI is made for speech in the room around you, not for phone or video calls.

Try Captio AI

Free to start, iPhone and Android

Sources

Every page this comparison uses, with the date we checked it.

Captio AI

Captify

Published 28 October 2026. App names and trademarks belong to their owners. This page is not affiliated with or endorsed by the companies it compares.