Captio AI

Captio AI vs Otter.ai

Captio AI and Otter.ai side by side for deaf and hard of hearing people: captions in the room, who is talking, languages, meeting bots, exports and price.

Facts checked on each company's own pages. How we compare

Otter.ai

by Otter.ai

iPhone, iPad, Android, web, Mac, Windows

vs

Captio AI

Our app

iPhone, iPad, Android

The short answer

Use Otter.ai if most of your conversations are work meetings on Zoom, Teams or Google Meet, where its Notetaker joins the call, or if you need summaries with action items and exports such as DOCX or SRT. Use Captio AI if you need to follow face-to-face conversations as they happen: it shows who is talking live, captions and translates 60+ languages, and lets you change text size and colours.

Choose Otter.ai if

Most of your conversations are Zoom, Teams or Meet meetings, you want a bot to join and take notes, or you need PDF, DOCX or SRT exports.

Choose Captio AI if

you want to read conversations in the room as they happen, see who is talking while they talk, follow other languages, or translate live.

Side by side

Captio AI vs Otter.ai, feature by feature

Tap any fact to see the details and the page it comes from.

Captio AI vs Otter.ai: features compared, facts checked 28 October 2026
Works onCaptio AI
Yes: iPhone, iPad, Android

On the App Store (also listed for Apple silicon Macs and Apple Vision) and on Google Play since October 2026.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing

Otter.ai
Yes: iPhone, iPad, Android, web, Mac, Windows

iOS and Android apps, a web app at otter.ai, desktop apps for Mac and Windows, and a Chrome extension for Google Meet and Zoom.

Sources: Otter.ai pricing page, Otter Chrome extension (Otter Help Center), Apple App Store listing

Captions people in the roomCaptio AI
Yes, from the phone's microphone

Speech in the room appears as text while the person is still talking.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Otter.ai
Yes, live transcript while it records

Tap record in the mobile app or on the web and the conversation is transcribed in real time from the built-in mic, a Bluetooth mic or AirPods. Real-time transcription needs internet.

Sources: Record a conversation (Otter Help Center), Getting the most out of Otter.ai: Best Practices for in-p… (Otter Help Center), Otter.ai pricing page, Google Play listing

Shows who is talkingCaptio AI
Yes, live and saved; names on iPhone

Separates speakers (Speaker 1, Speaker 2). On iPhone it can learn saved voices and show their names instead.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Otter.ai
Partly: After the recording stops (in person)

For in-person recordings and imports, speakers are identified only after the recording stops (Speaker 1, or a name once you tag them, which teaches Otter their voice). In Zoom meetings, Notetaker tags speakers live from participant names.

Sources: Speaker Identification Overview (Otter Help Center), Google Play listing, Otter.ai pricing page

Group conversationsCaptio AI
Partly: One phone, speaker labels

One phone captions the whole table and labels each speaker. Shared folders let several people add recordings to one place; live captions are not joined across phones.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Otter.ai
Partly: One device records; others can follow

Otter records from one device and recommends placing the mic in the middle of all speakers. A recording started inside an Otter group can be followed live by its members; other phones do not join as microphones.

Sources: Getting the most out of Otter.ai: Best Practices for in-p… (Otter Help Center), Google Play listing

Languages for live captionsCaptio AI
Yes: 60+ languages

Captions and translation in 60+ languages, including speech that switches languages mid-sentence.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Otter.ai
Yes: 6 languages, one at a time

Otter's help centre and pricing page list English, Spanish, French, German, Japanese and Chinese (German and Chinese in beta); French can be mixed with English. The App Store says four languages and Google Play three. Menus stay in English.

Sources: Supported languages (Otter Help Center), Transcribe conversations in English, Spanish, French, Ger… (Otter Help Center), Otter.ai pricing page, Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing

Live translationCaptio AI
Yes, live, two-way mode

Live translation next to the original captions, with a two-way mode where each person reads the other in their own language.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Translator (Captio AI)

Otter.ai
Partly: Not live; Otter Chat translates afterwards

Otter does not translate while you talk. Its help centre says you can ask Otter Chat to translate a conversation into other languages.

Sources: Supported languages (Otter Help Center), Transcribe conversations in English, Spanish, French, Ger… (Otter Help Center)

Live captions without internetCaptio AI
Partly: Records offline, captions later

Live captions need internet. Without a connection it keeps recording and transcribes automatically when the phone is back online.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Otter.ai
Partly: Records offline, transcribes later

Without internet the live transcript pauses but the audio keeps recording; the transcript is made once a connection is back.

Sources: Record with Otter offline or without an internet connection (Otter Help Center), Record a conversation (Otter Help Center)

Text size and coloursCaptio AI
Yes: Text size, colours, contrast

Text size, background colour and contrast can be adjusted.

Source: Live Captions (Captio AI)

Otter.ai
Not stated

No caption text size, colour or contrast settings are described on Otter's pricing page or the help articles checked, and its App Store listing names no accessibility features.

Sources: Otter.ai pricing page, Apple App Store listing

Saves transcriptsCaptio AI
Yes, with audio, synced

Recordings are saved with their audio in a searchable library and synced to your account.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Captio AI privacy policy

Otter.ai
Yes, with audio; free shows latest 25

Transcripts and audio are saved to your account. On the free Basic plan only the 25 most recent conversations show (older ones are archived, not deleted); paid plans keep unlimited history.

Sources: Conversation, import, and app limits on the Basic free plan (Otter Help Center), Otter.ai pricing page

Export and shareCaptio AI
Yes: Text, link, PDF, email

Share a transcript or summary as text, a link, a PDF, an email, or a prompt for an AI chat.

Source: AI Summary (Captio AI)

Otter.ai
Yes: TXT free; PDF, DOCX, SRT on paid plans

Basic exports text only as TXT (the pricing table also lists MP3 audio). Pro and higher export TXT, PDF, DOCX and SRT caption files, and Business adds bulk export.

Sources: Export conversations (Otter Help Center), Otter.ai pricing page

Transcribes audio and video filesCaptio AI
Yes: Audio and video files

Upload audio or video and get a full transcript with speaker labels.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Audio Transcription (Captio AI)

Otter.ai
Yes; free plan 3 files in total

Import audio and video files up to 5 GB on web or mobile. Basic allows 3 imports per account in total, Pro 10 a month, Business unlimited.

Sources: Import an audio or video file (Otter Help Center), Conversation, import, and app limits on the Basic free plan (Otter Help Center), Otter.ai pricing page

AI summariesCaptio AI
Yes: Summary, key points, to-dos

Turns transcripts into summaries, key points, notes, to-dos and follow-up messages. Free plan: 3 summaries in total.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, AI Summary (Captio AI)

Otter.ai
Yes: Summaries, action items, AI Chat

Automatic summaries, action items and outlines for recordings and imports, a summary email for synced calendar meetings, and AI Chat (limited on Basic).

Sources: Otter.ai pricing page, Import an audio or video file (Otter Help Center), Meeting Summary Overview (Otter Help Center)

Add your own words and namesCaptio AI
Yes, words and names

Add names, medical terms or specialist words so they are recognised.

Source: Live Captions (Captio AI)

Otter.ai
Yes; 5 terms free, 200 on Pro

Custom vocabulary for names and jargon: 5 words or phrases on Basic, 100 names and 100 other terms on Pro, more on Business.

Sources: Manage vocabulary (Otter Help Center), Otter.ai pricing page

Captions video callsCaptio AI
No

It is not a video-call captioning service.

Source: Live Captions (Captio AI)

Otter.ai
Yes: Notetaker joins Zoom, Teams, Meet

Otter Notetaker joins Zoom, Google Meet and Teams meetings and transcribes them live, on every plan. Zoom hosts can also give every participant a live transcript link (Live Notes).

Sources: Otter Notetaker Overview (Otter Help Center), Using Otter Live Notes (Otter Help Center), Otter Chrome extension (Otter Help Center), Otter.ai pricing page

Where speech is processedCaptio AI
Yes: Cloud; audio not stored on its servers

Speech is processed by third-party speech recognition after you agree. Audio is not stored on Captio AI's servers; content is never sold or used to train AI models.

Source: Captio AI privacy policy

Otter.ai
Yes: Cloud; trains AI on de-identified audio

Audio is processed and stored in the cloud (AWS, US West). The privacy policy says Otter trains its own AI on de-identified audio and on transcripts, and shares data with data-labeling providers. AI Chat sends your question and transcript to third-party AI providers.

Sources: Otter.ai privacy policy, Data security and privacy policies (Otter Help Center), Otter AI Chat FAQs (Otter Help Center), Set a custom Data Retention policy (Otter Help Center), Apple App Store listing

Account neededCaptio AI
Partly: Optional

Sign in with Apple or Google to sync, or skip and use it on one phone.

Source: Captio AI privacy policy

Otter.ai
Yes: Account needed

You sign in to an Otter account (name, email, phone number, password) to record. Google Play lists account creation as a requirement.

Sources: Student & Teacher discount program for the Pro plan (Otter Help Center), Otter.ai privacy policy, Google Play listing

Free planCaptio AI
Yes: 100 free credits a day + 3 summaries

Free every day: 100 free credits a day for live captions or transcription, and 3 AI summaries in total.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Captio AI for AI assistants (llms.txt)

Otter.ai
Yes: 300 min a month, 30 min per conversation

Basic is free: 300 transcription minutes a month, up to 30 minutes per conversation, 3 file imports in total, the 25 most recent conversations, 5 vocabulary terms and TXT export.

Sources: Conversation, import, and app limits on the Basic free plan (Otter Help Center), Otter.ai pricing page, Export conversations (Otter Help Center)

Paid plansCaptio AI
Yes: US$14.99/month or US$79.99/year

Captio AI Plus on the US App Store, October 2026. No free trial. Prices differ by country.

Source: Apple App Store listing

Otter.ai
Yes: Pro US$16.99/month or US$99.99/year

Pro on the US App Store, October 2026 (otter.ai shows US$8.33 a month billed yearly), with 1,200 minutes and up to 90 minutes per meeting. Business costs US$30 a month or US$239.99 a year, with a free trial that needs a card; students and teachers get 20% off Pro.

Sources: Otter.ai pricing page, Apple App Store listing, About your Otter Business free trial (Otter Help Center), Student & Teacher discount program for the Pro plan (Otter Help Center)

Key differences

What actually sets them apart

Does Otter.ai show who is talking during a conversation?

Not in person. Otter shows a live transcript while it records, but it identifies speakers only after the recording stops, so during a face-to-face conversation you read the words without names. Otter describes live names only for Zoom meetings, taken from participant names. Captio AI labels each speaker live and in saved recordings, and on iPhone can show the names of people whose voices you saved.

Sources: Speaker Identification Overview (Otter Help Center), Google Play listing, Otter.ai pricing page, Record a conversation (Otter Help Center), Getting the most out of Otter.ai: Best Practices for in-p… (Otter Help Center), Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Which languages does Otter.ai transcribe?

Six: English, Spanish, French, German, Japanese and Chinese (Simplified), one at a time, with German and Chinese still in beta; the app's menus stay in English. Captio AI captions 60+ languages, including speech that switches languages mid-sentence.

Sources: Supported languages (Otter Help Center), Transcribe conversations in English, Spanish, French, Ger… (Otter Help Center), Otter.ai pricing page, Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing, Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Can Otter.ai translate a conversation live?

No. Otter transcribes one language at a time; afterwards you can ask Otter Chat to translate the conversation. Captio AI translates speech live, next to the original captions, with a two-way mode.

Sources: Supported languages (Otter Help Center), Transcribe conversations in English, Spanish, French, Ger… (Otter Help Center), Apple App Store listing, Live Translator (Captio AI)

Can Otter.ai join my Zoom, Teams or Google Meet calls?

Yes, on every plan. Otter Notetaker joins Zoom, Google Meet and Teams meetings and transcribes them live, and Zoom hosts can give every participant a live transcript link. Captio AI does not caption video calls; it is made for speech in the room.

Sources: Otter Notetaker Overview (Otter Help Center), Using Otter Live Notes (Otter Help Center), Otter Chrome extension (Otter Help Center), Otter.ai pricing page, Live Captions (Captio AI)

What do you get after the conversation?

Both keep the recording with its audio and write summaries. Otter adds action items, outlines, AI Chat and, on paid plans, PDF, DOCX and SRT exports; its free plan shows only the 25 most recent conversations. Captio AI writes summaries, key points and to-dos, and shares them as text, a link, a PDF or an email.

Sources: Conversation, import, and app limits on the Basic free plan (Otter Help Center), Otter.ai pricing page, Import an audio or video file (Otter Help Center), Meeting Summary Overview (Otter Help Center), Export conversations (Otter Help Center), Apple App Store listing, Captio AI privacy policy, AI Summary (Captio AI)

What does each one cost?

Otter's free Basic plan gives 300 minutes a month, up to 30 minutes per conversation; Otter Pro costs US$16.99 a month or US$99.99 a year on the US App Store (October 2026). Captio AI is free with 100 free credits a day; Captio AI Plus costs US$14.99 a month or US$79.99 a year on the US App Store (October 2026), with no free trial.

Sources: Conversation, import, and app limits on the Basic free plan (Otter Help Center), Otter.ai pricing page, Export conversations (Otter Help Center), Apple App Store listing, About your Otter Business free trial (Otter Help Center), Student & Teacher discount program for the Pro plan (Otter Help Center), Apple App Store listing, Captio AI for AI assistants (llms.txt)

Honest take

Where each one wins

Where Otter.ai is the better choice

Where Captio AI is the better choice

Try Captio AI free

Which one should you use?

It depends on where you are

Captio AI

A family dinner or a chat with friends

Captio AI shows who is talking while it happens. Otter adds speaker names only after you stop recording.

Captions for this situation
Otter.ai

A Zoom, Teams or Meet call

Otter Notetaker joins the call and transcribes it live. Captio AI doesn't caption video calls.

Captions for this situation
Either one

An office meeting you need notes from

Both record and summarise. Otter adds action items and, on paid plans, DOCX or SRT exports; Captio AI shows who is talking live.

Captions for this situation
Captio AI

A doctor's appointment

Captio AI shows the words live with who is talking, and you can make the text bigger. Both keep the recording to read again.

Captions for this situation
Captio AI

Travelling abroad

Captio AI translates live in 60+ languages. Otter transcribes 6 languages and translates only afterwards, in Otter Chat.

Captions for this situation
Neither: see below

A phone call

Otter can't transcribe a call live; you import a recording afterwards. Captio AI doesn't caption calls. Look at a call-captioning service.

How we compare

Facts you can check, not opinions.

From their own pages

Every fact comes from the company's website, help pages, privacy policy or store listing. Tap any fact to see the page it comes from.

Checked 28 October 2026

Each source has the date we opened it. If a company doesn't say something publicly, the table says "Not stated" instead of guessing.

We make Captio AI

So it's described with the same rules as every other app, limits included, and each page says where the other app is the better choice.

Something out of date? hello@captioai.app

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Is there an Otter.ai app for deaf people?

Otter.ai describes itself as an AI meeting assistant that records, takes notes and writes summaries; its Google Play listing also mentions live captioning for anyone with accessibility needs. It shows a live transcript, but it names speakers only after the recording stops and describes no caption text size or colour settings. Captio AI is a live captioning app for conversations in the room, with speaker labels live and adjustable text.

Does Otter.ai show who is speaking at a family dinner?

Only after you stop recording: Otter's help centre says speaker identification starts once the recording has stopped, and it learns a voice after you tag that speaker. Captio AI labels each speaker while they talk, and on iPhone can show the names of people whose voices you saved.

Does Otter.ai have a free plan?

Yes. Otter Basic gives 300 transcription minutes a month, up to 30 minutes per conversation, 3 file imports in total and the 25 most recent conversations. Captio AI's free plan gives 100 free credits a day for captions or transcription and 3 AI summaries in total.

Can Otter.ai translate Spanish into English live?

No. Otter transcribes one language at a time (English, Spanish, French, German, Japanese or Chinese); afterwards you can ask Otter Chat to translate the conversation. Captio AI translates speech live in 60+ languages and shows the translation next to the original captions.

Does Otter.ai work without internet, for example on a plane?

Live transcription pauses without internet, but Otter keeps recording and makes the transcript once a connection is back. Captio AI works the same way: it keeps recording offline and transcribes when the phone reconnects.

How much does Otter.ai cost in the US?

Otter Pro costs US$16.99 a month or US$99.99 a year on the US App Store (October 2026); otter.ai shows US$8.33 a month billed yearly. Business costs US$30 a month, and students and teachers get 20% off Pro. Captio AI Plus costs US$14.99 a month or US$79.99 a year on the US App Store (October 2026).

Can Otter.ai caption phone calls?

No. Otter says Apple and Google stop third-party apps from recording calls, so you record the call another way and import it, and a live Otter recording pauses during a call. Captio AI doesn't caption phone calls either; it is made for speech in the room around you.

Does Otter.ai use my recordings to train its AI?

Otter's privacy policy says it trains its own AI on de-identified audio recordings and on transcripts, and shares data with data-labeling providers. Captio AI's privacy policy says your content is never used to train AI models, and audio is not stored on its servers.

Try Captio AI

Free to start, iPhone and Android

Sources

Every page this comparison uses, with the date we checked it.

Captio AI

Otter.ai

Published 28 October 2026. App names and trademarks belong to their owners. This page is not affiliated with or endorsed by the companies it compares.