Captio AI

Captio AI vs Rylo (formerly Nagish)

Captio AI vs Rylo, formerly Nagish: phone-call captions, in-person Live Transcribe, offline use, translation, privacy, US-only FCC funding and price.

Facts checked on each company's own pages. How we compare

Rylo (formerly Nagish)

by Nagish

iPhone, iPad, Android, Mac, Windows

vs

Captio AI

Our app

iPhone, iPad, Android

The short answer

Use Rylo (formerly Nagish) if you live in the US and need captions on phone calls: it is free through the FCC for eligible users, and its free Live Transcribe mode also captions the room, which Rylo says works offline. Use Captio AI if you live outside the US, where Rylo isn't offered, or want speaker labels, live translation and recordings you can summarise for conversations in the room.

Choose Rylo (formerly Nagish) if

you live in the US and need captions on phone calls and voicemail, want everything free, or need in-person captions without internet.

Choose Captio AI if

you live outside the US, or want speaker labels, live translation, saved audio and AI summaries for conversations in the room.

Side by side

Captio AI vs Rylo (formerly Nagish), feature by feature

Tap any fact to see the details and the page it comes from.

Captio AI vs Rylo (formerly Nagish): features compared, facts checked 28 October 2026
Works onCaptio AI
Yes: iPhone, iPad, Android

On the App Store (also listed for Apple silicon Macs and Apple Vision) and on Google Play since October 2026.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing

Rylo (formerly Nagish)
Yes: iPhone, iPad, Android, Mac, Windows

The Rylo phone app runs on iPhone, iPad and Android phones and tablets, with an Apple Watch companion. Rylo Desktop, a separate free app for Mac and Windows, captions video calls.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Which devices are compatible with Rylo? (Rylo Help Center), What is Rylo Desktop? (Rylo Help Center), System requirements for Rylo Desktop (Rylo Help Center)

Where it's availableCaptio AI
Yes: Worldwide

Available on the App Store and Google Play; prices differ by country.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing

Rylo (formerly Nagish)
Partly: US and US territories

Rylo supports the United States and its territories; its App Store listing was not found in the UK, Canada, Germany, Australia or Slovenia stores. Free international calls are possible to a listed set of countries.

Sources: Which countries does Rylo support? (Rylo Help Center), Apple listing, Can I make international calls with Rylo? (Rylo Help Center)

Captions phone callsCaptio AI
No

Made for in-person speech picked up by the microphone, not for captioning phone calls.

Source: Live Captions (Captio AI)

Rylo (formerly Nagish)
Yes, incoming, outgoing, voicemail

Rylo captions incoming and outgoing calls and voicemail, on your existing number or a new one. You can also caption your own voice, and keep captions in a floating window while you use other apps.

Sources: Free Phone Call Captioning App (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), Google Play listing, How to enable two-sided captioning (Rylo Help Center), How to Turn on Background Captions (Rylo Help Center)

Captions video callsCaptio AI
No

It is not a video-call captioning service.

Source: Live Captions (Captio AI)

Rylo (formerly Nagish)
Yes, Rylo Desktop (Zoom, Teams, Meet)

Rylo Desktop for Mac and Windows captions calls in Zoom, Teams, Google Meet, Slack Huddles, FaceTime, Discord, Webex and the browser. Rylo says no bot joins the meeting.

Sources: What is Rylo Desktop? (Rylo Help Center), Does Rylo Desktop work with Zoom, Teams, Google Meet, and… (Rylo Help Center), Rylo Desktop: Live captions for every call on your computer (Rylo (Nagish Inc.))

Captions people in the roomCaptio AI
Yes, from the phone's microphone

Speech in the room appears as text while the person is still talking.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Rylo (formerly Nagish)
Yes, Live Transcribe (free)

Live Transcribe, inside the Rylo phone app, captions speech in the room through the phone's microphone. It is free with no time limits and is not part of the FCC-funded service.

Sources: Live Transcribe: Real-time captions for in-person convers… (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), How to use Rylo Live (Live Transcribe) (Rylo Help Center), Google Play listing, Terms of Use (incl. Annex 2, Rylo AI Supplementary Terms) (Rylo (Nagish Inc.))

Languages for live captionsCaptio AI
Yes: 60+ languages

Captions and translation in 60+ languages, including speech that switches languages mid-sentence.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Rylo (formerly Nagish)
Yes: 50+ languages

Rylo's website says 50+ and its help centre lists 53 language entries. The App Store and Google Play listings name only 6, and Rylo Desktop says 60.

Sources: Which languages does Rylo support? (Rylo Help Center), Free Phone Call Captioning App (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), Apple App Store listing, Rylo Desktop: Live captions for every call on your computer (Rylo (Nagish Inc.))

Live captions without internetCaptio AI
Partly: Records offline, captions later

Live captions need internet. Without a connection it keeps recording and transcribes automatically when the phone is back online.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Rylo (formerly Nagish)
Partly: Live Transcribe yes; calls no

Rylo says Live Transcribe works without Wi-Fi or mobile data. Phone-call captions and Rylo Desktop need internet, and Rylo doesn't say which languages work offline.

Sources: Free Phone Call Captioning App (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), Live Transcribe: Real-time captions for in-person convers… (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), Rylo Desktop: Live captions for every call on your computer (Rylo (Nagish Inc.))

Shows who is talkingCaptio AI
Yes, live and saved; names on iPhone

Separates speakers (Speaker 1, Speaker 2). On iPhone it can learn saved voices and show their names instead.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Rylo (formerly Nagish)
Partly: Rylo Desktop; not stated in person

Rylo Desktop marks each line with who said it, and the homepage says calls show who is speaking, typing or pausing. Speaker labels are not mentioned for Live Transcribe.

Sources: Rylo Desktop: Live captions for every call on your computer (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), Viewing, searching, and exporting your call history in Ry… (Rylo Help Center), Free Phone Call Captioning App (Rylo (Nagish Inc.))

Live translationCaptio AI
Yes, live, two-way mode

Live translation next to the original captions, with a two-way mode where each person reads the other in their own language.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Translator (Captio AI)

Rylo (formerly Nagish)
Not stated

No Rylo page describes translating speech into another language. Rylo says it detects when the language changes during a conversation.

Sources: Live Transcribe: Real-time captions for in-person convers… (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), Which languages does Rylo support? (Rylo Help Center)

Saves transcriptsCaptio AI
Yes, with audio, synced

Recordings are saved with their audio in a searchable library and synced to your account.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Captio AI privacy policy

Rylo (formerly Nagish)
Yes, on your device

Call transcripts save on your device by default (you can turn this off), and Live Transcribe transcripts save automatically. Rylo can't restore deleted transcripts because they aren't on its servers.

Sources: How to access Rylo's saved call transcripts (Rylo Help Center), How to use Rylo Live (Live Transcribe) (Rylo Help Center), Live Transcribe: Real-time captions for in-person convers… (Rylo (Nagish Inc.))

AI summariesCaptio AI
Yes: Summary, key points, to-dos

Turns transcripts into summaries, key points, notes, to-dos and follow-up messages. Free plan: 3 summaries in total.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, AI Summary (Captio AI)

Rylo (formerly Nagish)
Partly: Rylo Desktop only

Rylo Desktop writes an AI summary on the computer after each captioned call, with decisions and action items. Summaries are not mentioned for the phone app or Live Transcribe.

Sources: Getting an AI summary of your call (Rylo Help Center), Rylo Desktop: Live captions for every call on your computer (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), Does Rylo Desktop send my audio to the cloud? (Rylo Help Center)

Human captionersCaptio AI
No

Captions are automatic.

Source: Live Captions (Captio AI)

Rylo (formerly Nagish)
No, automatic only

Rylo's terms say captions come from automated speech recognition, and the App Store listing says there is no human involvement.

Sources: Terms of Use (incl. Annex 2, Rylo AI Supplementary Terms) (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), Apple App Store listing

Where speech is processedCaptio AI
Yes: Cloud; audio not stored on its servers

Speech is processed by third-party speech recognition after you agree. Audio is not stored on Captio AI's servers; content is never sold or used to train AI models.

Source: Captio AI privacy policy

Rylo (formerly Nagish)
Partly: Calls deleted; Live Transcribe may be kept

Call audio and captions are deleted from Rylo's servers once delivered. Rylo's Live Transcribe page says transcripts are saved privately on your device, but its privacy policy says Rylo Live conversations may be recorded and stored, and its terms say Live Transcribe input may be used to train its AI.

Sources: Live Transcribe: Real-time captions for in-person convers… (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), Rylo (Nagish Inc.) privacy policy, Terms of Use (incl. Annex 2, Rylo AI Supplementary Terms) (Rylo (Nagish Inc.))

Account neededCaptio AI
Partly: Optional

Sign in with Apple or Google to sync, or skip and use it on one phone.

Source: Captio AI privacy policy

Rylo (formerly Nagish)
Yes; name, DOB, last 4 of SSN

Registration asks for your address, date of birth and the last four digits of your Social Security number, as FCC rules require; Rylo's help centre says you can't register without them, while the FCC says providers may accept other documents. Rylo Desktop also needs a free Rylo account.

Sources: Why does Rylo need personal information such as my Addres… (Rylo Help Center), I don't have a Social Security Number. Can I still use Rylo? (Rylo Help Center), Rylo Desktop: Live captions for every call on your computer (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), New IP CTS Registration Requirements FAQs (Federal Communications Commission)

Free through a government programmeCaptio AI
No

No government funding programme; see captioai.app/organizations for licences through an organisation.

Source: Captio AI for organizations

Rylo (formerly Nagish)
Yes, FCC (IP CTS and IP Relay)

The FCC lists Nagish, Inc. d/b/a Rylo with full IP CTS and conditional IP Relay certification. Calls are paid from the federal TRS Fund, and you self-certify a hearing or speech disability.

Sources: Internet-Based TRS Providers (Federal Communications Commission), Is Rylo free? (Rylo Help Center), Terms of Use (incl. Annex 2, Rylo AI Supplementary Terms) (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), New IP CTS Registration Requirements FAQs (Federal Communications Commission), What are IP CTS and IP Relay? (Rylo Help Center)

Free planCaptio AI
Yes: 100 free credits a day + 3 summaries

Free every day: 100 free credits a day for live captions or transcription, and 3 AI summaries in total.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Captio AI for AI assistants (llms.txt)

Rylo (formerly Nagish)
Yes: Free for eligible users, no limits

Phone-call captions are free for eligible deaf, hard of hearing or speech-disabled users. Live Transcribe is free with no time limits or ads, and Rylo Desktop is free with no paid features.

Sources: Is Rylo free? (Rylo Help Center), Live Transcribe: Real-time captions for in-person convers… (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), Is Rylo Desktop free? (Rylo Help Center)

Paid plansCaptio AI
Yes: US$14.99/month or US$79.99/year

Captio AI Plus on the US App Store, October 2026. No free trial. Prices differ by country.

Source: Apple App Store listing

Rylo (formerly Nagish)
No paid plans

No paid plan is listed and the App Store shows no in-app purchases. Rylo says people who aren't eligible may not get the service for free, and its terms allow fees outside the FCC programme.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Terms of Use (incl. Annex 2, Rylo AI Supplementary Terms) (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), Is Rylo only for people who are deaf or hard of hearing? (Rylo Help Center)

Key differences

What actually sets them apart

Does Captio AI caption phone calls like Rylo?

No. Rylo captions incoming and outgoing phone calls and voicemail, and Rylo Desktop captions video calls on Mac and Windows. Captio AI is made for speech in the room around you and does not caption phone or video calls, so the two do different jobs.

Sources: Free Phone Call Captioning App (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), Google Play listing, How to enable two-sided captioning (Rylo Help Center), How to Turn on Background Captions (Rylo Help Center), What is Rylo Desktop? (Rylo Help Center), Does Rylo Desktop work with Zoom, Teams, Google Meet, and… (Rylo Help Center), Rylo Desktop: Live captions for every call on your computer (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), Live Captions (Captio AI)

Can you use Rylo outside the US?

No. Rylo supports the United States and its territories, and registration asks for US details such as the last four digits of a Social Security number. Captio AI is on the App Store and Google Play worldwide, and an account is optional.

Sources: Which countries does Rylo support? (Rylo Help Center), Apple listing, Can I make international calls with Rylo? (Rylo Help Center), Why does Rylo need personal information such as my Addres… (Rylo Help Center), I don't have a Social Security Number. Can I still use Rylo? (Rylo Help Center), Rylo Desktop: Live captions for every call on your computer (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), New IP CTS Registration Requirements FAQs (Federal Communications Commission), Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing, Captio AI privacy policy

Do both caption conversations in the room?

Yes. Rylo's Live Transcribe mode, inside the Rylo phone app, and Captio AI both caption speech through the phone's microphone, and Live Transcribe is free with no time limit. Captio AI labels each speaker and translates live; Rylo doesn't describe speaker labels or translation for Live Transcribe.

Sources: Live Transcribe: Real-time captions for in-person convers… (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), How to use Rylo Live (Live Transcribe) (Rylo Help Center), Google Play listing, Terms of Use (incl. Annex 2, Rylo AI Supplementary Terms) (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), Rylo Desktop: Live captions for every call on your computer (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), Viewing, searching, and exporting your call history in Ry… (Rylo Help Center), Free Phone Call Captioning App (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), Which languages does Rylo support? (Rylo Help Center), Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI), Live Translator (Captio AI)

Which one works without internet?

Rylo Live Transcribe: Rylo says it needs no Wi-Fi or mobile data, though it doesn't say which languages work offline, and phone-call captions do need internet. Captio AI needs a connection for live captions; offline it keeps recording and transcribes when the phone is back online.

Sources: Free Phone Call Captioning App (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), Live Transcribe: Real-time captions for in-person convers… (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), Rylo Desktop: Live captions for every call on your computer (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Is Rylo Live Transcribe private?

Rylo's own pages say different things. Its Live Transcribe page says transcripts are saved privately on your device, while its privacy policy says Rylo Live conversations may be recorded and stored, and its terms say Live Transcribe input may be used to train its AI. Captio AI says audio is not stored on its servers and content is never used to train AI models.

Sources: Live Transcribe: Real-time captions for in-person convers… (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), Rylo (Nagish Inc.) privacy policy, Terms of Use (incl. Annex 2, Rylo AI Supplementary Terms) (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), Captio AI privacy policy

What does each one cost?

Rylo is free: phone-call captions are paid from the FCC's TRS Fund for eligible users, and Live Transcribe and Rylo Desktop are free to use. Captio AI is free with 100 free credits a day; Captio AI Plus costs US$14.99 a month or US$79.99 a year on the US App Store (October 2026).

Sources: Is Rylo free? (Rylo Help Center), Live Transcribe: Real-time captions for in-person convers… (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), Is Rylo Desktop free? (Rylo Help Center), Internet-Based TRS Providers (Federal Communications Commission), Terms of Use (incl. Annex 2, Rylo AI Supplementary Terms) (Rylo (Nagish Inc.)), New IP CTS Registration Requirements FAQs (Federal Communications Commission), What are IP CTS and IP Relay? (Rylo Help Center), Apple App Store listing, Captio AI for AI assistants (llms.txt)

Honest take

Where each one wins

Where Rylo (formerly Nagish) is the better choice

Where Captio AI is the better choice

Try Captio AI free

Which one should you use?

It depends on where you are

Rylo (formerly Nagish)

Calling your doctor or the pharmacy

In the US, Rylo captions the call for free if you are eligible. Captio AI doesn't caption phone calls.

Captions for this situation
Rylo (formerly Nagish)

A Zoom or Teams call on your computer

Rylo Desktop captions video calls on Mac and Windows for free. Captio AI doesn't caption video calls.

Rylo (formerly Nagish)

Somewhere with no signal

Rylo says Live Transcribe works without Wi-Fi or mobile data. Captio AI records offline and captions later.

Captio AI

A family dinner or a group

Captio AI labels each speaker, so you can see who said what. Rylo doesn't describe speaker labels for Live Transcribe.

Captions for this situation
Captio AI

A lecture or meeting you need notes from

Captio AI keeps the recording with its audio and turns it into a summary, key points and to-dos.

Captions for this situation
Captio AI

Living or travelling outside the US

Rylo is only offered in the US and its territories. Captio AI works worldwide and translates conversations live.

Captions for this situation
How we compare

Facts you can check, not opinions.

From their own pages

Every fact comes from the company's website, help pages, privacy policy or store listing. Tap any fact to see the page it comes from.

Checked 28 October 2026

Each source has the date we opened it. If a company doesn't say something publicly, the table says "Not stated" instead of guessing.

We make Captio AI

So it's described with the same rules as every other app, limits included, and each page says where the other app is the better choice.

Something out of date? hello@captioai.app

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Is Nagish now called Rylo?

Yes. nagish.com now redirects to rylo.com, Rylo's website gives the company's name as Nagish Inc. dba Rylo, and the FCC lists it as Nagish, Inc. d/b/a Rylo. The app is called Rylo on the App Store and Google Play. Captio AI is a separate app for captions of the people in the room, available outside the US too.

Is Rylo free for deaf and hard of hearing people in the US?

Yes, for eligible users. Rylo is FCC-certified, so phone-call captions are paid from the federal TRS Fund for people who are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability, who self-certify when they sign up. Live Transcribe and Rylo Desktop are free too. Captio AI, for conversations in the room, is free with 100 free credits a day in any country, and Captio AI Plus removes the limit.

Can I use Rylo in the UK or Canada?

No. Rylo supports the United States and its territories, and its App Store listing was not found in the UK, Canadian, German or Australian stores in October 2026. Captio AI is available worldwide on the App Store and Google Play.

Does Rylo Live Transcribe work offline in a hospital or on a plane?

Rylo says Live Transcribe works without Wi-Fi or mobile data, but doesn't say which languages work offline. Phone-call captions need internet. Captio AI needs internet for live captions; offline it records and transcribes when the phone is back online.

Does Rylo use my in-person conversations to train its AI?

Rylo's terms say input to Live Transcribe may be used to train or improve its models, and its privacy policy says Rylo Live conversations may be recorded and stored. Its Live Transcribe page says transcripts are saved privately on your device. The terms also say the content of FCC-funded calls is not kept beyond the call. Captio AI's privacy policy says audio is not stored on its servers and content is never used to train AI models.

Can Rylo translate Spanish into English?

Rylo doesn't describe translating speech. It captions more than 50 languages, including Spanish, and detects when the language changes. Captio AI translates conversations live and shows the translation next to the original captions.

Does Rylo use human captioners?

No. Rylo's terms say captions come from automated speech recognition, and its App Store listing says there is no human involvement. Captio AI's captions are automatic too.

Do I need both Rylo and Captio AI?

If you live in the US, you may want a call-caption service like Rylo for phone calls and a live caption app for the room. Rylo's Live Transcribe already captions the room for free; Captio AI adds speaker labels, live translation, saved audio and AI summaries, and works outside the US.

Try Captio AI

Free to start, iPhone and Android

Sources

Every page this comparison uses, with the date we checked it.

Captio AI

Rylo (formerly Nagish)

Published 28 October 2026. App names and trademarks belong to their owners. This page is not affiliated with or endorsed by the companies it compares.