Captio AI vs Microsoft Translator
Captio AI and Microsoft Translator compared for reading and translating a conversation: captions, speech languages, offline use, groups and price.
Facts checked on each company's own pages. How we compare
The short answer
Use Microsoft Translator if you want free translation of short spoken phrases in 48 languages, typed text in 135, and offline text and photo translation, with no account. Use Captio AI if you want to read a whole conversation as live captions, see who is talking, translate it live and keep the recording. Both of Microsoft's store listings say its multi-device conversation feature has been retired (June 2026).
Choose Microsoft Translator if
you want free translation with no account, mostly short phrases, typed text or text in photos, sometimes without internet.
Choose Captio AI if
you want captions of a whole conversation, follow a group or a class, want to see who is talking, or want to keep recordings and turn them into notes.
Captio AI vs Microsoft Translator, feature by feature
Tap any fact to see the details and the page it comes from.
| Feature | Captio AICaptio AI | Microsoft TranslatorMicrosoft |
|---|---|---|
| Works onThe phone you already have decides what you can use. | Captio AIYes: iPhone, iPad, AndroidOn the App Store (also listed for Apple silicon Macs and Apple Vision) and on Google Play since October 2026. Sources: Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing | Microsoft TranslatorYes: iPhone, iPad, AndroidThe App Store lists it for iPhone and iPad, and Google Play has the Android app. Microsoft says its Windows desktop app is retired. Sources: Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing, Live conversations (Microsoft) |
| NeedsOlder phones are often left out of built-in features. | Captio AIYes: iOS 15.1 or laterThe App Store lists iOS 15.1 or later for iPhone. Source: Apple App Store listing | Microsoft TranslatorYes: iOS 17 or later; Android not statedThe US App Store listing needs iOS 17.0 or later (iPadOS 17.0 on iPad). The Google Play listing doesn't show a minimum Android version. Source: Apple App Store listing |
| Captions people in the roomSpeech picked up by the phone's microphone, for face-to-face conversations. | Captio AIYes, from the phone's microphoneSpeech in the room appears as text while the person is still talking. Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI) | Microsoft TranslatorPartly: Translates short spoken phrasesThe microphone translates what is said between two chosen languages, hands-free when both support auto-detect. In auto mode each speaker can talk for up to 20 seconds (Android FAQ), and Microsoft doesn't describe captions in the same language. Sources: Apple App Store listing, Translator for iOS FAQs (Microsoft), Translator for Android FAQs (Microsoft), Translator app features (Microsoft), Introducing the redesigned Microsoft Translator app for i… (Microsoft Translator Blog) |
| Live translationFor a conversation in a language you don't read. | Captio AIYes, live, two-way modeLive translation next to the original captions, with a two-way mode where each person reads the other in their own language. Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Translator (Captio AI) | Microsoft TranslatorYes, speech in 48 languagesSpeech is translated between two chosen languages, and the app detects which one is spoken when both support it. A split-screen mode lets two people share one phone. Sources: Apple App Store listing, Translator for iOS FAQs (Microsoft), Microsoft Translator Languages, Introducing the redesigned Microsoft Translator app for i… (Microsoft Translator Blog), Translator for Android FAQs (Microsoft) |
| Languages for live captionsThe number of spoken languages it can caption live. | Captio AIYes: 60+ languagesCaptions and translation in 60+ languages, including speech that switches languages mid-sentence. Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI) | Microsoft TranslatorYes: 48 speech languagesMicrosoft's languages page marks 48 languages for speech (Levantine Arabic on Android only) and 135 for text; the store listings say over 100. Its Android FAQ still says 11 speech languages. Sources: Microsoft Translator Languages, Apple App Store listing, Translator for Android FAQs (Microsoft) |
| Live captions without internetPlanes, basements, hospitals and trips abroad often have no signal. | Captio AIPartly: Records offline, captions laterLive captions need internet. Without a connection it keeps recording and transcribes automatically when the phone is back online. Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI) | Microsoft TranslatorNo, speech needs internetMicrosoft says speech translation works only while online. With downloaded language packs, text and photos translate without internet. Sources: Translator for iOS FAQs (Microsoft), Translator for Android FAQs (Microsoft), Translator app features (Microsoft) |
| Group conversationsAt a table or in a meeting, voices come from every side. | Captio AIPartly: One phone, speaker labelsOne phone captions the whole table and labels each speaker. Shared folders let several people add recordings to one place; live captions are not joined across phones. Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI) | Microsoft TranslatorNo: Multi-device feature retired (June 2026)Both store listings say the multi-device conversation feature has been retired (App Store version 26.7.1, June 30, 2026). Some Microsoft pages still describe joining a conversation from several phones with a code; a split-screen mode puts two people on one phone. Sources: Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing, Translator app features (Microsoft), Microsoft Translator multi-device conversation help and FAQs, Transitioning the Microsoft Translator web app to a simpl… (Microsoft Translator Blog), Translator for Android FAQs (Microsoft) |
| Shows who is talkingWithout it, a group conversation is one block of text. | Captio AIYes, live and saved; names on iPhoneSeparates speakers (Speaker 1, Speaker 2). On iPhone it can learn saved voices and show their names instead. Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI) | Microsoft TranslatorNot statedMicrosoft's current pages don't describe showing who is talking. Split-screen mode gives two people one phone, one language each. Sources: Translator for Android FAQs (Microsoft), Microsoft Translator Languages |
| Saves transcriptsTo read a lecture, appointment or meeting again later. | Captio AIYes, with audio, syncedRecordings are saved with their audio in a searchable library and synced to your account. | Microsoft TranslatorPartly: History and pinned translationsRecent translations stay in the app's history and can be pinned or saved as favourites. Transcripts were part of the conversation feature (2023 blog); the store listings now say the multi-device conversation feature has been retired. Sources: Translator for iOS FAQs (Microsoft), Translator for Android FAQs (Microsoft), Introducing the redesigned Microsoft Translator app for i… (Microsoft Translator Blog), Apple App Store listing |
| Export and shareTo send notes to yourself, a carer or a colleague. | Captio AIYes: Text, link, PDF, emailShare a transcript or summary as text, a link, a PDF, an email, or a prompt for an AI chat. Source: AI Summary (Captio AI) | Microsoft TranslatorPartly: Copy or share single translationsTranslations can be copied, sent as a text message, or shared by email or social apps. No transcript file export is described. Sources: Translator for Android FAQs (Microsoft), Translator app features (Microsoft) |
| Transcribes audio and video filesFor recordings and videos that have no captions. | Captio AIYes: Audio and video filesUpload audio or video and get a full transcript with speaker labels. Sources: Apple App Store listing, Audio Transcription (Captio AI) | Microsoft TranslatorNo audio or video filesMicrosoft says the app doesn't translate media or files such as movies or video clips. You can upload photos to translate the text in them. Sources: Translator for iOS FAQs (Microsoft), Translator app features (Microsoft) |
| AI summariesKey points and to-dos from a long transcript. | Captio AIYes: Summary, key points, to-dosTurns transcripts into summaries, key points, notes, to-dos and follow-up messages. Free plan: 3 summaries in total. Sources: Apple App Store listing, AI Summary (Captio AI) | Microsoft TranslatorNot statedNo AI summaries are described for the app. Microsoft's 2023 blog mentioned meeting topics in the conversation feature's transcripts. Sources: Introducing the redesigned Microsoft Translator app for i… (Microsoft Translator Blog), Translator app features (Microsoft) |
| Add your own words and namesNames, medicines and jargon are the words captions miss most. | Captio AIYes, words and namesAdd names, medical terms or specialist words so they are recognised. Source: Live Captions (Captio AI) | Microsoft TranslatorNot statedNo option to add your own words or names is described. Sources: Translator for iOS FAQs (Microsoft), Translator for Android FAQs (Microsoft) |
| Text size and coloursCaptions have to be readable at arm's length, flat on a table. | Captio AIYes: Text size, colours, contrastText size, background colour and contrast can be adjusted. Source: Live Captions (Captio AI) | Microsoft TranslatorNot statedMicrosoft's app pages don't describe text size or colour options. Sources: Translator for iOS FAQs (Microsoft), Translator for Android FAQs (Microsoft) |
| Where speech is processedOn the phone or in the cloud, and whether audio is kept. | Captio AIYes: Cloud; audio not stored on its serversSpeech is processed by third-party speech recognition after you agree. Audio is not stored on Captio AI's servers; content is never sold or used to train AI models. Source: Captio AI privacy policy | Microsoft TranslatorYes: In Microsoft's cloud (online only)Speech works only online, so it goes to Microsoft's service. The iOS FAQ says speech isn't collected unless you agree to share voice clips; Microsoft's privacy statement says sampled audio is de-identified before it's used to improve the service. Sources: Translator for iOS FAQs (Microsoft), Microsoft privacy policy, Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing |
| Account neededSome people want to open the app and start, with no sign-up. | Captio AIPartly: OptionalSign in with Apple or Google to sync, or skip and use it on one phone. Source: Captio AI privacy policy | Microsoft TranslatorNo account neededMicrosoft says the app doesn't need you to sign in. Source: Translator for iOS FAQs (Microsoft) |
| Free planWhat you can do without paying. | Captio AIYes: 100 free credits a day + 3 summariesFree every day: 100 free credits a day for live captions or transcription, and 3 AI summaries in total. Sources: Apple App Store listing, Captio AI for AI assistants (llms.txt) | Microsoft TranslatorYes: Free, whole appMicrosoft says the app is free of charge, and the App Store lists it as Free. Sources: Translator for iOS FAQs (Microsoft), Apple App Store listing |
| Paid plansPrices as listed by the company, with the country and date. | Captio AIYes: US$14.99/month or US$79.99/yearCaptio AI Plus on the US App Store, October 2026. No free trial. Prices differ by country. Source: Apple App Store listing | Microsoft TranslatorNo paid planNo paid plan or in-app purchases are listed on the US App Store (October 2026), and Microsoft's FAQ says the app is free. Sources: Apple App Store listing, Translator for iOS FAQs (Microsoft) |
What actually sets them apart
Does Microsoft Translator still have group conversations?
Not according to its store listings: both say the multi-device conversation feature has been retired (App Store version 26.7.1, June 30, 2026), although some Microsoft pages still describe it. Captio AI captions a whole table from one phone and labels each speaker; it doesn't join several phones into one live conversation.
Sources: Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing, Translator app features (Microsoft), Microsoft Translator multi-device conversation help and FAQs, Transitioning the Microsoft Translator web app to a simpl… (Microsoft Translator Blog), Translator for Android FAQs (Microsoft), Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)
Can Microsoft Translator be used as live captions?
Microsoft doesn't describe it that way. Its microphone translates short phrases between two chosen languages, and in auto mode each speaker can talk for up to 20 seconds (Android FAQ). Captio AI shows speech in the room as text while the person is still talking, with or without translation.
Sources: Apple App Store listing, Translator for iOS FAQs (Microsoft), Translator for Android FAQs (Microsoft), Translator app features (Microsoft), Introducing the redesigned Microsoft Translator app for i… (Microsoft Translator Blog), Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI), Live Translator (Captio AI)
Which one works without internet?
For text and photos, Microsoft Translator: downloaded language packs work offline, but Microsoft says speech translation works only while online. Captio AI also needs internet for live captions; without it, it keeps recording and transcribes when the phone is back online.
Sources: Translator for iOS FAQs (Microsoft), Translator for Android FAQs (Microsoft), Translator app features (Microsoft), Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)
How many languages can each one handle?
For speech, Microsoft's language list marks 48 languages and Captio AI lists 60+, including speech that switches languages mid-sentence. For typed text, Microsoft Translator covers 135 languages.
Sources: Microsoft Translator Languages, Apple App Store listing, Translator for Android FAQs (Microsoft), Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)
Can you keep the conversation afterwards?
Captio AI saves recordings with their audio, synced to your account, and can turn them into a summary or to-dos. Microsoft Translator keeps a history of single translations that you can pin, copy or share; it doesn't describe saving a whole conversation.
Sources: Apple App Store listing, Captio AI privacy policy, AI Summary (Captio AI), Translator for iOS FAQs (Microsoft), Translator for Android FAQs (Microsoft), Introducing the redesigned Microsoft Translator app for i… (Microsoft Translator Blog), Apple App Store listing, Translator app features (Microsoft)
What does each one cost?
Microsoft Translator is free and needs no account. Captio AI is free with 100 free credits a day; Captio AI Plus costs US$14.99 a month or US$79.99 a year on the US App Store (October 2026), with no free trial.
Sources: Translator for iOS FAQs (Microsoft), Apple App Store listing, Apple App Store listing, Captio AI for AI assistants (llms.txt)
Where each one wins
Where Microsoft Translator is the better choice
It is free, with no account or sign-in.
Sources: Translator for iOS FAQs (Microsoft), Apple App Store listing
It translates typed text in 135 languages, and the text in photos too.
Sources: Microsoft Translator Languages, Apple App Store listing, Translator for Android FAQs (Microsoft), Translator app features (Microsoft)
Downloaded language packs translate text and photos without internet.
Sources: Translator for iOS FAQs (Microsoft), Translator for Android FAQs (Microsoft), Translator app features (Microsoft)
It detects which of two languages is spoken, so two people can talk without tapping the microphone each time.
Sources: Translator for iOS FAQs (Microsoft), Introducing the redesigned Microsoft Translator app for i… (Microsoft Translator Blog)
Where Captio AI is the better choice
It shows a whole conversation as live captions while people are still talking.
Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)
It captions a group from one phone and labels each speaker; on iPhone it can show their names.
Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)
It translates live in 60+ languages, with a two-way mode.
Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Translator (Captio AI), Live Captions (Captio AI)
It saves recordings with their audio, transcribes audio and video files, and writes summaries and to-dos.
Sources: Apple App Store listing, Captio AI privacy policy, Audio Transcription (Captio AI), AI Summary (Captio AI)
You can add names and specialist words, and change text size, colours and contrast.
Source: Live Captions (Captio AI)
Try Captio AI free
It depends on where you are
A class or a lecture
Captio AI captions the lecture and keeps the recording. Microsoft's store listings say the multi-device conversation feature it promoted for classrooms has been retired.
Captions for this situationA family dinner or a group
One phone captions the table and labels each speaker.
Captions for this situationA meeting you need notes from
Captio AI keeps the recording and turns it into a summary, key points and to-dos.
Captions for this situationA quick question in another language
For a short exchange at a counter, Microsoft Translator is free, needs no account and detects which of two languages is spoken.
Travelling abroad
Microsoft Translator is free and translates text and photos offline with language packs. Captio AI translates a whole conversation live, as captions.
Captions for this situationNo signal at all
Neither captions or translates speech without internet. Microsoft Translator still translates text and photos offline; Captio AI keeps recording and transcribes later.
Facts you can check, not opinions.
From their own pages
Every fact comes from the company's website, help pages, privacy policy or store listing. Tap any fact to see the page it comes from.
Checked 28 October 2026
Each source has the date we opened it. If a company doesn't say something publicly, the table says "Not stated" instead of guessing.
We make Captio AI
So it's described with the same rules as every other app, limits included, and each page says where the other app is the better choice.
Something out of date? hello@captioai.app
Frequently asked questions
Has Microsoft Translator's conversation feature been retired?
Its App Store and Google Play listings say the multi-device conversation feature has been retired; on the App Store that note came with version 26.7.1 on June 30, 2026. Some Microsoft help and education pages still describe the feature. Microsoft's FAQs still describe speech translation on one phone, including a split-screen mode. Captio AI captions a group conversation from one phone, labels each speaker, and translates it live.
What can deaf students use instead of Microsoft Translator in class?
Microsoft promoted its multi-device conversation feature for deaf and hard of hearing students, and its store listings now say that feature has been retired. Captio AI captions a lecture from one phone, labels speakers and keeps the recording, which you can turn into notes. It doesn't join several phones into one live conversation.
Does Microsoft Translator work offline?
Partly. With downloaded language packs it translates text and photos offline, but Microsoft says speech translation works only while online. Captio AI also needs internet for live captions, and without it keeps recording and transcribes when the phone is back online.
How many languages does Microsoft Translator support for speech?
Microsoft's languages page marks 48 languages for speech and 135 for text, with Levantine Arabic speech on Android only. Its Android FAQ still says 11 speech languages. Captio AI captions and translates speech in 60+ languages.
Can Microsoft Translator caption a conversation in English?
Microsoft doesn't describe captions in the same language: the app translates speech between two languages you choose, and in auto mode each speaker can talk for up to 20 seconds. Captio AI shows speech in the room as text while the person is still talking.
Can I use Microsoft Translator with a doctor who speaks another language?
For short exchanges, yes: the split-screen mode lets two people share one phone, one language each, while online. Microsoft doesn't describe adding medical words or saving the whole conversation. Captio AI lets you add medical terms, translates live and keeps the recording.
Can Microsoft Translator translate a video or a recorded lecture?
No. Microsoft says the app doesn't translate media or files such as movies or video clips. Captio AI transcribes audio and video files you upload, with speaker labels.
Is Microsoft Translator free?
Yes. Microsoft says the app is free of charge and needs no account, and the US App Store lists no in-app purchases (October 2026). Captio AI is free with 100 free credits a day; Captio AI Plus costs US$14.99 a month or US$79.99 a year on the US App Store.
Try Captio AI
Free to start, iPhone and Android
Download for free
More comparisons
Captio AI vs Google Translate
Google's free translation app for Android and iPhone; its Live translate and Transcribe modes show spoken words as text, translated into another language.
Captio AI vs Ava
Live captioning app for deaf and hard of hearing people, with group conversations, offline mode, sound alerts and optional human captioners.
Captio AI vs Live Transcribe
Google's free Android app that captions in-person speech through the phone's microphone and alerts you to sounds like alarms and doorbells.
Sources
Every page this comparison uses, with the date we checked it.
Captio AI
- Live Captions - Captio AI on the App StoreApple App Store, checked 28 October 2026
- Captio AI on Google PlayGoogle Play, checked 28 October 2026
- Live CaptionsCaptio AI, checked 28 October 2026
- Live TranslatorCaptio AI, checked 28 October 2026
- Privacy PolicyCaptio AI, checked 28 October 2026
- AI SummaryCaptio AI, checked 28 October 2026
- Audio TranscriptionCaptio AI, checked 28 October 2026
- Captio AI for AI assistants (llms.txt)Captio AI, checked 28 October 2026
Microsoft Translator
- Microsoft Translator on the App Store (US)Apple App Store, checked 28 October 2026
- Microsoft Translator on Google Play (US)Google Play, checked 28 October 2026
- Live conversations - Education - Microsoft TranslatorMicrosoft, checked 28 October 2026
- Translator for iOS FAQsMicrosoft, checked 28 October 2026
- Translator for Android FAQsMicrosoft, checked 28 October 2026
- Translator app featuresMicrosoft, checked 28 October 2026
- Introducing the redesigned Microsoft Translator app for iOS (February 28, 2023)Microsoft Translator Blog, checked 28 October 2026
- Microsoft Translator LanguagesMicrosoft, checked 28 October 2026
- Microsoft Translator multi-device conversation help and FAQsMicrosoft, checked 28 October 2026
- Transitioning the Microsoft Translator web app to a simplified experience (August 3, 2022)Microsoft Translator Blog, checked 28 October 2026
- Microsoft Privacy Statement (Last Updated: September 2026), section Microsoft TranslatorMicrosoft, checked 28 October 2026
Published 28 October 2026. App names and trademarks belong to their owners. This page is not affiliated with or endorsed by the companies it compares.

