Captio AI
Compare

Caption apps for deaf and hard of hearing people

Captio AI side by side with the caption, translation and phone-call caption apps deaf and hard of hearing people use, every fact from their own pages.

12

apps compared with Captio AI

293

official pages read, every fact linked

28 October

facts checked, 2026

Which caption app should I use?

It depends on the job. To read what people in the room are saying, use a live caption app: Google Live Transcribe on Android, Apple's Live Captions built into iPhone, iPad and Mac, or an app such as Ava or Captio AI. For videos and calls playing on the phone, the phone's built-in captions do that. For phone calls in the US, call-caption services such as InnoCaption and Rylo are free for eligible users through an FCC programme. Each comparison below shows what an app does, from its own pages.

At a glance

Live caption apps at a glance

The apps that caption people in the room, on the questions that matter most. Tap any fact for its source.

Live caption apps at a glance, facts checked 28 October 2026
Captio AICaptio AIWorks on
Yes: iPhone, iPad, Android

On the App Store (also listed for Apple silicon Macs and Apple Vision) and on Google Play since October 2026.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing

Languages for live captions
Yes: 60+ languages

Captions and translation in 60+ languages, including speech that switches languages mid-sentence.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Live captions without internet
Partly: Records offline, captions later

Live captions need internet. Without a connection it keeps recording and transcribes automatically when the phone is back online.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Shows who is talking
Yes, live and saved; names on iPhone

Separates speakers (Speaker 1, Speaker 2). On iPhone it can learn saved voices and show their names instead.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Live translation
Yes, live, two-way mode

Live translation next to the original captions, with a two-way mode where each person reads the other in their own language.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Translator (Captio AI)

Free plan
Yes: 100 free credits a day + 3 summaries

Free every day: 100 free credits a day for live captions or transcription, and 3 AI summaries in total.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Captio AI for AI assistants (llms.txt)

Live TranscribeGoogleCompare with Captio AIWorks on
Yes: Android only (no iPhone app)

Google describes it as working "using just your Android phone". A search of Apple's US App Store finds no Live Transcribe app from Google.

Sources: Google Play listing, Use Live Transcribe (Google), App Store search (Apple)

Languages for live captions
Yes: Over 80 languages and dialects

The Play listing says over 80 languages and dialects (the 2019 launch post said over 70). You can set a primary and a secondary language. Google does not publish the full list on these pages.

Sources: Google Play listing, Real-time Continuous Transcription with Live Transcribe (… (Google Research), Use Live Transcribe (Google)

Live captions without internet
Partly: Downloaded languages only; Android 12+ for more than English

On Pixel and select phones with Android 12 or later you can download several languages (e.g. English, French) for offline use; on Android 8 to 11, English only. Offline transcription turns on automatically. Google does not list which languages can be downloaded.

Source: Use Live Transcribe (Google)

Shows who is talking
Not stated

Neither Google's help page nor the Play listing describes showing who is talking. Google's 2019 launch post listed speaker separation as possible future work.

Sources: Use Live Transcribe (Google), Google Play listing, Real-time Continuous Transcription with Live Transcribe (… (Google Research)

Live translation
Not stated

Google's help page describes no translation between spoken languages. The only translation is sign-to-text (ASL into English text, see signLanguage).

Source: Use Live Transcribe (Google)

Free plan
Yes: Free, no in-app purchases listed

Google Play lists the app at a price of 0 USD with no in-app purchases; Google launched it as a free Android service.

Sources: Google Play listing, Real-time Continuous Transcription with Live Transcribe (… (Google Research)

Apple Live CaptionsAppleCompare with Captio AIWorks on
Yes: iPhone, iPad, Mac, Vision Pro

Built into iOS, iPadOS and macOS, and it works on Apple Vision Pro. During Live Listen, the iPhone's captions can also be read on a paired Apple Watch.

Sources: Get live captions of spoken audio on iPhone (iPhone User… (Apple), Get live captions of spoken audio on iPad (iPad User Guide) (Apple), Get captions of spoken and computer audio on Mac (Mac Use… (Apple), Accessibility: Hearing (Apple), Control Live Listen on iPhone from Apple Watch (Apple)

Languages for live captions
Yes: 8 languages (18 variants)

Cantonese, English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Mandarin Chinese and Spanish, in 18 language and region variants. It launched in 2022 as a beta in US and Canadian English only.

Sources: iOS and iPadOS Feature Availability: Accessibility: Live… (Apple), macOS Feature Availability: Accessibility: Live Captions (Apple), Apple previews innovative accessibility features (May 17,… (Apple Newsroom), Get live captions in real time on iPhone (iPhone User Gui… (Apple), Get live captions of spoken audio on iPhone (iPhone User… (Apple)

Live captions without internet
Yes, processed on the device

Apple says audio is processed on the device. A Mac downloads language data the first time, which needs internet; Apple's iPhone guide doesn't mention internet at all.

Sources: Get captions of spoken and computer audio on Mac (Mac Use… (Apple), Accessibility: Hearing (Apple), Apple previews innovative accessibility features (May 17,… (Apple Newsroom)

Shows who is talking
Partly: FaceTime calls only

In FaceTime calls the captions show who's speaking. Apple describes no speaker labels for in-person or other-app captions.

Sources: Use Live Captions and Live Translation in FaceTime on iPhone (Apple), Apple previews innovative accessibility features (May 17,… (Apple Newsroom)

Live translation
Partly: Separate Live Translation feature

Live Captions only transcribes. Apple's separate Live Translation (Apple Intelligence, iPhone 15 Pro or later) translates Phone and FaceTime calls, and with supported AirPods translates in-person speech into your ears.

Sources: Use Live Captions and Live Translation in FaceTime on iPhone (Apple), Use Live Translation on iPhone (Apple), iOS and iPadOS Feature Availability: Accessibility: Live… (Apple), Use Live Translation with your AirPods (Apple)

Free plan
Yes: Free, built into the device

A built-in accessibility feature of iPhone, iPad and Mac; there is nothing to buy or download from the App Store.

Sources: Accessibility features for hearing on iPhone (Apple), Get live captions of spoken audio on iPhone (iPhone User… (Apple)

AvaTranscenseCompare with Captio AIWorks on
Yes: iPhone, iPad, Android, web, Windows, Mac

Mobile apps for iOS and Android, a web app and a desktop app for Windows and Mac.

Sources: Professional & AI-Based Captions for Deaf & HoH (Ava (Transcense, Inc.)), What system requirements does Ava have? (Ava Help Center), Apple App Store listing

Languages for live captions
Yes: 23+ languages

Ava's help centre (June 2026) lists 23 languages, with 19 more on some devices. Its website says 20+ in one place and 50+ in another, and the App Store says 16. Captioning in a language other than your phone's language needs a paid plan.

Sources: What Languages and Countries Are Supported by Ava? (Ava Help Center), Professional & AI-Based Captions for Deaf & HoH (Ava (Transcense, Inc.)), Ava (Transcense, Inc.) pricing page, Apple App Store listing

Live captions without internet
Partly: Mobile only, one person, default language

The mobile apps have an offline mode with somewhat lower accuracy. It works only one to one (solo mode), only in your default language, and not on web or desktop.

Sources: Does Ava work with little or no internet connection? (Ava Help Center), Ava (Transcense, Inc.) pricing page, Google Play listing

Shows who is talking
Yes: Per joined phone; 1-phone SpeakerID in beta

In a group conversation each person who joins from their own phone appears in their own colour with their name. SpeakerID on a single phone (up to 5 speakers) is a Premium-only beta you must be given access to.

Sources: Captioning Group Conversations on Ava (Ava Help Center), Using Ava for Casual Conversations (in-person) (Ava Help Center), SpeakerID for Live Captioning on Mobile [Beta] (Ava Help Center), Ava (Transcense, Inc.) pricing page

Live translation
Yes: Live, paid plans (Premium captions)

You pick a spoken language and a language to translate into during a conversation; it needs Premium captions, which come with paid plans. Ava's translation article lists 23 languages, but its languages article lists only a few pairs, such as English with French or Spanish.

Sources: How to translate a conversation with Ava (Ava Help Center), What Languages and Countries Are Supported by Ava? (Ava Help Center), How to change the settings in a conversation (Ava Help Center), Ava (Transcense, Inc.) pricing page

Free plan
Yes: Unlimited basic captions, 40-min sessions

The pricing page and App Store describe free basic captions in sessions of up to 40 minutes that you can restart. An older answer on the pricing page still mentions 5 free hours a month. It is not an ADA-compliant plan.

Sources: Ava (Transcense, Inc.) pricing page, Apple App Store listing

Otter.aiOtter.aiCompare with Captio AIWorks on
Yes: iPhone, iPad, Android, web, Mac, Windows

iOS and Android apps, a web app at otter.ai, desktop apps for Mac and Windows, and a Chrome extension for Google Meet and Zoom.

Sources: Otter.ai pricing page, Otter Chrome extension (Otter Help Center), Apple App Store listing

Languages for live captions
Yes: 6 languages, one at a time

Otter's help centre and pricing page list English, Spanish, French, German, Japanese and Chinese (German and Chinese in beta); French can be mixed with English. The App Store says four languages and Google Play three. Menus stay in English.

Sources: Supported languages (Otter Help Center), Transcribe conversations in English, Spanish, French, Ger… (Otter Help Center), Otter.ai pricing page, Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing

Live captions without internet
Partly: Records offline, transcribes later

Without internet the live transcript pauses but the audio keeps recording; the transcript is made once a connection is back.

Sources: Record with Otter offline or without an internet connection (Otter Help Center), Record a conversation (Otter Help Center)

Shows who is talking
Partly: After the recording stops (in person)

For in-person recordings and imports, speakers are identified only after the recording stops (Speaker 1, or a name once you tag them, which teaches Otter their voice). In Zoom meetings, Notetaker tags speakers live from participant names.

Sources: Speaker Identification Overview (Otter Help Center), Google Play listing, Otter.ai pricing page

Live translation
Partly: Not live; Otter Chat translates afterwards

Otter does not translate while you talk. Its help centre says you can ask Otter Chat to translate a conversation into other languages.

Sources: Supported languages (Otter Help Center), Transcribe conversations in English, Spanish, French, Ger… (Otter Help Center)

Free plan
Yes: 300 min a month, 30 min per conversation

Basic is free: 300 transcription minutes a month, up to 30 minutes per conversation, 3 file imports in total, the 25 most recent conversations, 5 vocabulary terms and TXT export.

Sources: Conversation, import, and app limits on the Basic free plan (Otter Help Center), Otter.ai pricing page, Export conversations (Otter Help Center)

SpeakseeSpeaksee B.V.Compare with Captio AIWorks on
Yes: iPhone, iPad, Android; web viewer

The Speaksee app runs on iOS and Android and connects to the kit. Others can follow a session on a phone, tablet or computer through a shared link or QR code.

Sources: On which devices can I view the transcriptions? (Speaksee), Apple App Store (seller: SpeakSee B.V.) listing, Google Play (developer: Speaksee B.V.) listing

Languages for live captions
Yes: 55 listed, 11 tested by native speakers

Speaksee's help centre lists 11 languages tested by native speakers (such as Dutch, English, French, German and Spanish) and 44 more not yet tested, many of them regional variants.

Source: In which languages can I use the Microphone Kit? (Speaksee)

Live captions without internet
No, needs internet

The manual lists an internet connection as a requirement (Wi-Fi, or the phone's connection over Bluetooth), because audio goes to the Speaksee cloud. The kit uses about 40 MB of data an hour.

Sources: User Manual Microphone Kit, version 2026 (Speaksee B.V.), How much data does the Speaksee Microphone Kit use? (Speaksee)

Shows who is talking
Yes, a colour and name per mic

Each microphone's speech shows in its own colour, and each microphone can be given a name and a language in the app.

Sources: Speaksee Microphone Kit, User Manual Microphone Kit, version 2026 (Speaksee B.V.), How can I adjust legibility in the Speaksee app? (Speaksee)

Live translation
Yes, live, a language per mic

You can set the spoken and shown language for the whole session or for each microphone, and people following by QR code can read in their own language. The August 2026 manual says 80+ languages; the product page says more than 40.

Sources: Speaksee Microphone Kit, User Manual Microphone Kit, version 2026 (Speaksee B.V.)

Free plan
No; the app needs the paid kit

The app is free to download but works only with the Speaksee Microphone Kit, which comes with a paid software subscription. Speaksee says a trial is possible in some cases.

Sources: Apple App Store (seller: SpeakSee B.V.) listing, What is the difference between Speaksee AutoCaption and t… (Speaksee), Can I try the Microphone Kit? (Speaksee)

How we compare

Facts you can check, not opinions.

From their own pages

Every fact comes from the company's website, help pages, privacy policy or store listing. Tap any fact to see the page it comes from.

Checked 28 October 2026

Each source has the date we opened it. If a company doesn't say something publicly, the table says "Not stated" instead of guessing.

We make Captio AI

So it's described with the same rules as every other app, limits included, and each page says where the other app is the better choice.

Something out of date? hello@captioai.app

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between Live Transcribe and Live Caption on Android?

Live Transcribe captions people talking around you, through the phone's microphone. Live Caption captions audio playing on the phone, such as videos, podcasts and calls, and doesn't caption people in the room. Both are made by Google. Captio AI does the job of Live Transcribe, on Android and iPhone.

Which caption apps work on iPhone?

Apple's Live Captions is built into iPhone, iPad and Mac, and Captio AI, Ava and Otter.ai have iPhone apps. Google Live Transcribe and Android's Live Caption are Android only.

Which caption apps work without internet?

Google Live Transcribe captions offline in downloaded languages on Android 12 or later, and Android's Live Caption and Apple's Live Captions process audio on the device. Ava has an offline mode on mobile in solo mode. Captio AI and Otter.ai record offline and transcribe once you are back online.

Are there free caption apps for deaf people?

Yes. Google Live Transcribe, Android's Live Caption and Apple's Live Captions are free. Ava, Otter.ai and Captio AI have free plans with limits, shown on each comparison page, and paid plans for more.

Which apps caption phone calls for deaf people in the US?

Call-caption services such as InnoCaption and Rylo (formerly Nagish) caption phone calls, and are free for eligible US users through the FCC's IP CTS programme. Live caption apps such as Captio AI are made for people in the room, not for calls.

Try Captio AI

Free to start, iPhone and Android

Last updated 28 October 2026. App names and trademarks belong to their owners. This page is not affiliated with or endorsed by the companies it compares.