Captio AI

Captio AI vs Speaksee

Captio AI and the Speaksee microphone kit side by side: phone mic or clip-on mics, group conversations, who is talking, translation, funding and price.

Facts checked on each company's own pages. How we compare

Speaksee

by Speaksee B.V.

iPhone, iPad, Android; web viewer

vs

Captio AI

Our app

iPhone, iPad, Android

The short answer

Use Speaksee if you follow group conversations in noisy places and the people you talk to will each wear a clip-on microphone, especially if UK or Dutch funding can pay for the kit. Use Captio AI if you want captions from the phone you already have, with a free plan, saved recordings and summaries.

Choose Speaksee if

you follow group conversations in noisy rooms, the people around you will wear a microphone, and the kit can be paid for through Access to Work, the DSA or a Dutch insurer.

Choose Captio AI if

you want captions from the phone in your pocket, with no kit and a free plan, or summaries and to-dos, or captions for people who won't wear a microphone.

Side by side

Captio AI vs Speaksee, feature by feature

Tap any fact to see the details and the page it comes from.

Captio AI vs Speaksee: features compared, facts checked 28 October 2026
Works onCaptio AI
Yes: iPhone, iPad, Android

On the App Store (also listed for Apple silicon Macs and Apple Vision) and on Google Play since October 2026.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing

Speaksee
Yes: iPhone, iPad, Android; web viewer

The Speaksee app runs on iOS and Android and connects to the kit. Others can follow a session on a phone, tablet or computer through a shared link or QR code.

Sources: On which devices can I view the transcriptions? (Speaksee), Apple App Store (seller: SpeakSee B.V.) listing, Google Play (developer: Speaksee B.V.) listing

NeedsCaptio AI
Yes: iOS 15.1 or later

The App Store lists iOS 15.1 or later for iPhone.

Source: Apple App Store listing

Speaksee
Yes: Speaksee kit; iOS 16.6+ or Android

The app works only with the Speaksee Microphone Kit, on a phone or tablet with Bluetooth Low Energy; the App Store lists iOS 16.6 or later. A minimum Android version is not stated, and the kit can't connect directly to a laptop.

Sources: User Manual Microphone Kit, version 2026 (Speaksee B.V.), On which devices can I view the transcriptions? (Speaksee), How can I download the Speaksee app and create an account? (Speaksee), Apple App Store (seller: SpeakSee B.V.) listing

Captions people in the roomCaptio AI
Yes, from the phone's microphone

Speech in the room appears as text while the person is still talking.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Speaksee
Partly: Only through its clip-on mics

Speech is picked up by the kit's microphones, which the speakers wear. The app is not a standalone app and doesn't caption with the phone's own microphone.

Sources: User Manual Microphone Kit, version 2026 (Speaksee B.V.), How can I download the Speaksee app and create an account? (Speaksee), Can I place the microphones of the Microphone kit on a ta… (Speaksee)

Group conversationsCaptio AI
Partly: One phone, speaker labels

One phone captions the whole table and labels each speaker. Shared folders let several people add recordings to one place; live captions are not joined across phones.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Speaksee
Yes, one mic per speaker

The kit comes with 3 wearable microphones and a base station, and a second kit can be added. Speaksee's website says groups of up to 9; its store listings say up to six speakers at the same time.

Sources: Speaksee Microphone Kit, User Manual Microphone Kit, version 2026 (Speaksee B.V.), Apple App Store (seller: SpeakSee B.V.) listing, Google Play (developer: Speaksee B.V.) listing

Shows who is talkingCaptio AI
Yes, live and saved; names on iPhone

Separates speakers (Speaker 1, Speaker 2). On iPhone it can learn saved voices and show their names instead.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Speaksee
Yes, a colour and name per mic

Each microphone's speech shows in its own colour, and each microphone can be given a name and a language in the app.

Sources: Speaksee Microphone Kit, User Manual Microphone Kit, version 2026 (Speaksee B.V.), How can I adjust legibility in the Speaksee app? (Speaksee)

Languages for live captionsCaptio AI
Yes: 60+ languages

Captions and translation in 60+ languages, including speech that switches languages mid-sentence.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Speaksee
Yes: 55 listed, 11 tested by native speakers

Speaksee's help centre lists 11 languages tested by native speakers (such as Dutch, English, French, German and Spanish) and 44 more not yet tested, many of them regional variants.

Source: In which languages can I use the Microphone Kit? (Speaksee)

Live captions without internetCaptio AI
Partly: Records offline, captions later

Live captions need internet. Without a connection it keeps recording and transcribes automatically when the phone is back online.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Speaksee
No, needs internet

The manual lists an internet connection as a requirement (Wi-Fi, or the phone's connection over Bluetooth), because audio goes to the Speaksee cloud. The kit uses about 40 MB of data an hour.

Sources: User Manual Microphone Kit, version 2026 (Speaksee B.V.), How much data does the Speaksee Microphone Kit use? (Speaksee)

Live translationCaptio AI
Yes, live, two-way mode

Live translation next to the original captions, with a two-way mode where each person reads the other in their own language.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Translator (Captio AI)

Speaksee
Yes, live, a language per mic

You can set the spoken and shown language for the whole session or for each microphone, and people following by QR code can read in their own language. The August 2026 manual says 80+ languages; the product page says more than 40.

Sources: Speaksee Microphone Kit, User Manual Microphone Kit, version 2026 (Speaksee B.V.)

Saves transcriptsCaptio AI
Yes, with audio, synced

Recordings are saved with their audio in a searchable library and synced to your account.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Captio AI privacy policy

Speaksee
Yes, as a file on your device

After a conversation you can save the transcript to the phone (Files on iPhone and iPad, Downloads on Android). Speaksee deletes transcripts from its own servers shortly after use, so the saved file is your copy.

Sources: Can I Save Transcripts from the Microphone Kit? (Speaksee), User Manual Microphone Kit, version 2026 (Speaksee B.V.), Speaksee privacy policy

Transcribes audio and video filesCaptio AI
Yes: Audio and video files

Upload audio or video and get a full transcript with speaker labels.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Audio Transcription (Captio AI)

Speaksee
Not stated

Transcribing uploaded audio or video files is not mentioned on Speaksee's pages.

AI summariesCaptio AI
Yes: Summary, key points, to-dos

Turns transcripts into summaries, key points, notes, to-dos and follow-up messages. Free plan: 3 summaries in total.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, AI Summary (Captio AI)

Speaksee
Not stated

AI summaries are not mentioned on Speaksee's pages.

Add your own words and namesCaptio AI
Yes, words and names

Add names, medical terms or specialist words so they are recognised.

Source: Live Captions (Captio AI)

Speaksee
Partly: Word list sent through a web form

You can add names, technical terms and abbreviations by sending a word list through a form on the help centre; it is not described as a setting in the app.

Source: How do you improve the performance of the Microphone Kit… (Speaksee)

Text size and coloursCaptio AI
Yes: Text size, colours, contrast

Text size, background colour and contrast can be adjusted.

Source: Live Captions (Captio AI)

Speaksee
Yes: Themes, dark mode, text size

The app offers four themes (Color, Glow, Minimal, Teletext), dark mode, focus mode, text size and bold words.

Sources: How can I adjust legibility in the Speaksee app? (Speaksee), User Manual Microphone Kit, version 2026 (Speaksee B.V.)

Where speech is processedCaptio AI
Yes: Cloud; audio not stored on its servers

Speech is processed by third-party speech recognition after you agree. Audio is not stored on Captio AI's servers; content is never sold or used to train AI models.

Source: Captio AI privacy policy

Speaksee
Yes: Cloud in the EEA; not used for training

Audio is processed in the cloud by Speaksee and third-party speech-to-text processors within the European Economic Area, encrypted, and is never used for training. The privacy policy says transcripts are deleted within 5 minutes; the help centre says right after processing.

Sources: Do other parties have access to the data that is collected? (Speaksee), Speaksee privacy policy, User Manual Microphone Kit, version 2026 (Speaksee B.V.)

Account neededCaptio AI
Partly: Optional

Sign in with Apple or Google to sync, or skip and use it on one phone.

Source: Captio AI privacy policy

Speaksee
Yes, plus a kit activation code

You create a Speaksee account (Google, Apple or email) and enter the activation code from the kit box; each code works for one account.

Sources: How can I download the Speaksee app and create an account? (Speaksee), User Manual Microphone Kit, version 2026 (Speaksee B.V.)

Free planCaptio AI
Yes: 100 free credits a day + 3 summaries

Free every day: 100 free credits a day for live captions or transcription, and 3 AI summaries in total.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Captio AI for AI assistants (llms.txt)

Speaksee
No; the app needs the paid kit

The app is free to download but works only with the Speaksee Microphone Kit, which comes with a paid software subscription. Speaksee says a trial is possible in some cases.

Sources: Apple App Store (seller: SpeakSee B.V.) listing, What is the difference between Speaksee AutoCaption and t… (Speaksee), Can I try the Microphone Kit? (Speaksee)

Paid plansCaptio AI
Yes: US$14.99/month or US$79.99/year

Captio AI Plus on the US App Store, October 2026. No free trial. Prices differ by country.

Source: Apple App Store listing

Speaksee
Partly: Quote only, not published

Speaksee publishes no prices and asks you to request a quote. Canadian reseller Special Needs Computers lists the 3-microphone kit at CA$2,029.99, the 6-microphone kit at CA$2,999.99 and a one-year Speaksee subscription at CA$2,800.00 (October 2026).

Sources: What are the costs for the Speaksee Microphone Kit? (Speaksee), What is the difference between Speaksee AutoCaption and t… (Speaksee), Special Needs Computers (third-party reseller, Canada) listing, Special Needs Computers (third-party reseller, Canada) listing

Free through a government programmeCaptio AI
No

No government funding programme; see captioai.app/organizations for licences through an organisation.

Source: Captio AI for organizations

Speaksee
Yes: UK and Netherlands funding

In the UK, Speaksee points employees to Access to Work and students to the Disabled Students' Allowance. In the Netherlands, contracted health insurers usually pay the full cost (your deductible applies), and work use can be paid through the UWV.

Sources: Is the Speaksee Microphone Kit covered? (Speaksee), Is the full cost reimbursed for private use through Dutch… (Speaksee), What is the duration of the Speaksee license for private… (Speaksee), What is the duration of the Speaksee license for work use… (Speaksee), Speaksee Microphone Kit

Key differences

What actually sets them apart

Does Speaksee work without its microphone kit?

No. Speaksee says its app works only with the Speaksee Microphone Kit and doesn't caption with the phone's own microphone; each speaker wears a clip-on mic. Captio AI captions speech in the room from the phone's own microphone.

Sources: User Manual Microphone Kit, version 2026 (Speaksee B.V.), How can I download the Speaksee app and create an account? (Speaksee), Can I place the microphones of the Microphone kit on a ta… (Speaksee), On which devices can I view the transcriptions? (Speaksee), Apple App Store (seller: SpeakSee B.V.) listing, Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Which one is made for a noisy group?

Speaksee. Each speaker wears their own microphone, captions are split by colour and name per person, and Speaksee says the kit transcribes groups even with background noise. Captio AI captions the whole table from one phone and labels each speaker.

Sources: Speaksee Microphone Kit, User Manual Microphone Kit, version 2026 (Speaksee B.V.), Apple App Store (seller: SpeakSee B.V.) listing, Google Play (developer: Speaksee B.V.) listing, How can I adjust legibility in the Speaksee app? (Speaksee), Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

How much does Speaksee cost?

Speaksee publishes no prices and asks you to request a quote. Canadian reseller Special Needs Computers lists the 3-microphone kit at CA$2,029.99 plus CA$2,800.00 for a one-year subscription (October 2026). Captio AI is free with 100 free credits a day, and Captio AI Plus costs US$14.99 a month or US$79.99 a year on the US App Store.

Sources: What are the costs for the Speaksee Microphone Kit? (Speaksee), What is the difference between Speaksee AutoCaption and t… (Speaksee), Special Needs Computers (third-party reseller, Canada) listing, Special Needs Computers (third-party reseller, Canada) listing, Apple App Store listing, Captio AI for AI assistants (llms.txt)

Can you get Speaksee paid for?

Often, in the UK and the Netherlands. Speaksee points UK employees to Access to Work and students to the Disabled Students' Allowance, and Dutch health insurers with a contract usually pay the full cost. Captio AI has no government funding programme.

Sources: Is the Speaksee Microphone Kit covered? (Speaksee), Is the full cost reimbursed for private use through Dutch… (Speaksee), What is the duration of the Speaksee license for private… (Speaksee), What is the duration of the Speaksee license for work use… (Speaksee), Speaksee Microphone Kit, Captio AI for organizations

Does either one work without internet?

Neither captions live without internet. Speaksee sends audio to its cloud and uses about 40 MB of data an hour. Captio AI also needs a connection for live captions, but without one it keeps recording and transcribes when the phone is back online.

Sources: User Manual Microphone Kit, version 2026 (Speaksee B.V.), How much data does the Speaksee Microphone Kit use? (Speaksee), Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

What happens to the transcript afterwards?

Speaksee lets you save the transcript as a file on your phone and deletes it from its servers shortly after use. Captio AI saves each recording with its audio in a library synced to your account, and can turn it into a summary or to-dos.

Sources: Can I Save Transcripts from the Microphone Kit? (Speaksee), User Manual Microphone Kit, version 2026 (Speaksee B.V.), Speaksee privacy policy, Apple App Store listing, Captio AI privacy policy, AI Summary (Captio AI)

Honest take

Where each one wins

Where Speaksee is the better choice

Where Captio AI is the better choice

Try Captio AI free

Which one should you use?

It depends on where you are

Speaksee

A noisy family dinner or a group

If everyone at the table will wear a clip-on mic, Speaksee splits the captions by person, even with background noise. If not, Captio AI captions the table from one phone.

Captions for this situation
Speaksee

Every day at work, with funding

In the UK or the Netherlands, work funding can pay for the kit, and each colleague wears a microphone.

Captio AI

A meeting you need notes from

Captio AI keeps the recording and turns it into a summary, key points and to-dos.

Captions for this situation
Captio AI

A doctor's appointment

Captio AI captions from your phone, so the doctor doesn't wear a microphone, and keeps the recording to read again.

Captions for this situation
Captio AI

Travelling or out and about

Captio AI runs on the phone in your pocket and translates live. Speaksee needs the kit, worn microphones and internet.

Captions for this situation
Captio AI

Paying for it yourself

Captio AI has a free plan, and Plus is US$14.99 a month on the US App Store. A Canadian reseller lists Speaksee at CA$2,029.99 plus CA$2,800.00 a year.

How we compare

Facts you can check, not opinions.

From their own pages

Every fact comes from the company's website, help pages, privacy policy or store listing. Tap any fact to see the page it comes from.

Checked 28 October 2026

Each source has the date we opened it. If a company doesn't say something publicly, the table says "Not stated" instead of guessing.

We make Captio AI

So it's described with the same rules as every other app, limits included, and each page says where the other app is the better choice.

Something out of date? hello@captioai.app

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Does Speaksee work without the microphone kit?

No. Speaksee says its app works only with the Speaksee Microphone Kit and is not a standalone app; it doesn't caption with the phone's own microphone. Captio AI captions from the phone's microphone.

How much does Speaksee cost?

Speaksee doesn't publish prices; it asks you to request a quote and says the cost depends on your needs and the number of microphones. Canadian reseller Special Needs Computers lists the 3-microphone kit at CA$2,029.99, the 6-microphone kit at CA$2,999.99 and a one-year subscription at CA$2,800.00 (October 2026). Captio AI needs no kit: it uses your phone's microphone, its free plan gives 100 free credits a day, and Captio AI Plus costs US$14.99 a month or US$79.99 a year on the US App Store (October 2026).

Is Speaksee covered by Access to Work or the DSA in the UK?

Speaksee says many UK customers have used Access to Work to buy the kit, and that the Disabled Students' Allowance covers it for students. Captio AI has no government funding programme; organisations can get licences through captioai.app/organizations.

Is Speaksee reimbursed by Dutch health insurance?

Speaksee says that if your health insurer has a contract with Speaksee, the full cost is usually reimbursed, though your deductible (eigen risico) still applies. The licence for private use runs five years, and work use can be paid through the UWV. Captio AI isn't paid for by a public programme, but an organisation can buy Captio AI licences for the people who need them.

Does Speaksee work in a noisy restaurant?

Speaksee says the kit transcribes groups in real time even with background noise, with each speaker wearing their own microphone. It needs internet, and each microphone lasts about 4 hours per charge. Captio AI captions from the phone's own microphone.

How many people can Speaksee caption at once?

One kit has 3 microphones, and another kit can be added. Speaksee's website says groups of up to 9 people; its App Store and Google Play listings say up to six speakers at the same time. Captio AI captions the whole table from one phone and labels each speaker.

Which languages does Speaksee support?

Speaksee's help centre lists 11 languages tested by native speakers, including Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish, and 44 more entries not yet tested. Captio AI captions and translates in 60+ languages.

Can Speaksee caption phone calls?

No. Speaksee's help centre says the kit is not designed for phone calls. Captio AI doesn't caption calls either; both are made for conversations in the room around you.

Try Captio AI

Free to start, iPhone and Android

Sources

Every page this comparison uses, with the date we checked it.

Captio AI

Speaksee

Published 28 October 2026. App names and trademarks belong to their owners. This page is not affiliated with or endorsed by the companies it compares.