Captio AI

Captio AI vs Sovoro Plus

Captio AI vs Sovoro Plus (소보로 플러스) for deaf and hard of hearing Koreans: captions on a PC, translation, who is talking, KEAD funding, trial and KRW price.

Facts checked on each company's own pages. How we compare

Sovoro Plus

by SOVORO Co., Ltd.

iPhone, iPad, Android, PC web browser

vs

Captio AI

Our app

iPhone, iPad, Android

The short answer

Pick Sovoro Plus if you live in Korea and want captions on a PC browser as well as your phone, including YouTube and online lectures playing on the computer, or if KEAD can pay 90% of a Sovoro tablet bundle for your job. Pick Captio AI if Korean is not the only language in your day and you need live translation, want every speaker labelled at the table, or want to stay on a free plan instead of subscribing after a 14-day trial.

Choose Sovoro Plus if

you want captions in a PC browser and for videos on your phone, a mode that reads your typed words aloud, or a KEAD-funded tablet bundle at work.

Choose Captio AI if

you mix Korean with other languages and need them translated, want meeting voices told apart and named on iPhone, want a knock at the door in the transcript, or want a plan that stays free.

Side by side

Captio AI vs Sovoro Plus, feature by feature

Tap any fact to see the details and the page it comes from.

Captio AI vs Sovoro Plus: features compared, facts checked 28 October 2026
Languages for live captionsCaptio AI
Yes: 60+ languages

Captions and translation in 60+ languages, including speech that switches languages mid-sentence.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Sovoro Plus
Yes: Korean, English, Japanese

The mobile guide lists Korean, English and Japanese as caption languages. Chinese captions were removed from the iPhone app in January 2025. The app itself is in Korean only.

Sources: Sovoro guide: live captions (mobile) (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Sovoro notice: Chinese captions ended (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), App Store data (South Korea) (Apple)

Live translationCaptio AI
Yes, live, two-way mode

Live translation next to the original captions, with a two-way mode where each person reads the other in their own language.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Translator (Captio AI)

Sovoro Plus
No, captions stay in the spoken language

You choose the recognition language, and captions come out in that language, not as a translation.

Source: Sovoro guide: live captions (PC) (SOVORO (소리를보는통로))

Works onCaptio AI
Yes: iPhone, iPad, Android

On the App Store (also listed for Apple silicon Macs and Apple Vision) and on Google Play since October 2026.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing

Sovoro Plus
Yes: iPhone, iPad, Android, PC web browser

Apps for iPhone, iPad and Android, plus the web app in a PC browser, all on one account (phone, tablet, laptop, desktop). The mobile app can be signed in on two devices at once. The App Store also lists it for Macs with Apple M1 or later.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing, Sovoro support and FAQ (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Sovoro website (SOVORO (소리를보는통로))

Captions videos playing on the phoneCaptio AI
Partly: Uploaded files only

It does not caption audio playing on the phone, but it can transcribe a saved audio or video file.

Source: Audio Transcription (Captio AI)

Sovoro Plus
Yes, on phone and PC

Content captions show captions for videos or audio playing on the phone. On PC the web app captions sound playing on the computer, which on Windows needs a separate sound setup (a virtual audio cable).

Sources: Sovoro guide: content captions (mobile) (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Sovoro website (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Sovoro guide: captions for videos on PC (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Apple App Store listing

Captions people in the roomCaptio AI
Yes, from the phone's microphone

Speech in the room appears as text while the person is still talking.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

Sovoro Plus
Yes, conversations, lectures, meetings

Live captions for everyday conversations, lectures and meetings on phone, tablet or PC. Each live session runs for up to 120 minutes. For noise or a distant speaker, Sovoro suggests connecting a microphone.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Sovoro website (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Sovoro guide: live captions (mobile) (SOVORO (소리를보는통로))

Shows who is talkingCaptio AI
Yes, live and saved; names by voice on iPhone

Separates speakers (Speaker 1, Speaker 2). On iPhone it can learn saved voices and show their names instead.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Recognize voices (Captio AI) (Captio AI), Live Captions (Captio AI)

Sovoro Plus
Partly: Uploaded files only

Captions for uploaded audio and video come with speaker separation. The pages don't say live captions show who is talking.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Sovoro website (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Google Play listing

Remembers people's voicesCaptio AI
Yes, Recognize Voices (iPhone)

Save someone's voice once (about 20 seconds of talking, or an audio file) and their name and emoji show on every line they say, live and in saved recordings, instead of "Speaker 2". Voiceprints are made on the iPhone and never uploaded. When someone new talks for a while, Captio AI asks who it is. Free plan: your own voice plus one other person; Plus: more people.

Source: Recognize voices (Captio AI) (Captio AI)

Sovoro Plus
Not stated

No page describes learning people's voices or showing their names.

Shows where a voice comes fromCaptio AI
Yes, on iPhone 16 and later

With the iPhone flat on the table, a wave grows at the edge of the captions on the side the voice comes from, in that speaker's colour, while new words appear. It uses the iPhone's spatial microphones (not AirPods or an external mic), works in Live Captions and Live Translator, is calculated on the phone, and is free.

Source: Speaker direction (Captio AI) (Captio AI)

Sovoro Plus
Not stated

No page describes showing where a voice comes from.

Alerts for soundsCaptio AI
Yes, sounds in the captions; alerts vibrate

Recognize Sounds (iPhone and iPad) writes sounds into the captions where they happen, like [doorbell rings], in Live Captions, Live Translator and uploaded files. A doorbell, knocking, a smoke alarm, a siren, a phone ringing or a baby crying makes the phone vibrate, with a notification when the screen is locked during a recording. It works while Captio AI is recording, not as an always-on alarm. Recognized on the phone; free; not on Android yet.

Source: Recognize sounds (Captio AI) (Captio AI)

Sovoro Plus
Not stated

Sovoro's feature lists on its website and App Store page don't mention alerts for sounds like a doorbell or an alarm.

Sources: Sovoro website (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Apple App Store listing

Transcribes audio and video filesCaptio AI
Yes: Audio and video files

Upload audio or video and get a full transcript with speaker labels.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Audio Transcription (Captio AI)

Sovoro Plus
Yes, 10 hours a month

Upload audio or video (aac, wav, mp3, m4a, ac3, flac, avi, mp4, mov, wmv), such as call recordings, meetings or lectures, and get captions with speaker separation. File captions are limited to 10 hours a month.

Sources: Sovoro guide: file captions (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Apple App Store listing, Sovoro website (SOVORO (소리를보는통로))

Saves transcriptsCaptio AI
Yes, with audio, synced

Recordings are saved with their audio in a searchable library and synced to your account.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Captio AI privacy policy

Sovoro Plus
Yes, synced; audio too on mobile

On mobile you can save the captions, or the captions with the audio. On the web only the captions are saved. Saved captions show on your other devices.

Sources: Sovoro guide: live captions (mobile) (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Sovoro notice: web live captions (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Sovoro support and FAQ (SOVORO (소리를보는통로))

AI summariesCaptio AI
Yes: Summary, key points, to-dos

Turns transcripts into summaries, key points, notes, to-dos and follow-up messages. Free plan: 3 summaries in total.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, AI Summary (Captio AI)

Sovoro Plus
Not stated

Sovoro's feature lists on its website and App Store page don't mention AI summaries or notes from a transcript.

Sources: Sovoro website (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Apple App Store listing

Add your own words and namesCaptio AI
Yes, words and names

Add names, medical terms or specialist words so they are recognised.

Source: Live Captions (Captio AI)

Sovoro Plus
No, word list ended in 2024

Sovoro ended its word list (단어장), which helped recognise words you added, on 11 June 2024, after an accuracy update.

Source: Sovoro notice: word list ended (SOVORO (소리를보는통로))

Text size and coloursCaptio AI
Yes: Text size, colours, contrast

Text size, background colour and contrast can be adjusted.

Source: Live Captions (Captio AI)

Sovoro Plus
Yes: Colours, size, fonts; PC pop-up window

Caption colour, size and font can be changed, swear words can be hidden, and on the web a pop-up caption window can be placed and resized anywhere on the screen.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Sovoro website (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Sovoro guide: live captions (mobile) (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Sovoro guide: live captions (PC) (SOVORO (소리를보는통로))

Where speech is processedCaptio AI
Yes: Cloud; audio not stored on its servers

Speech is processed by third-party speech recognition after you agree. Audio is not stored on Captio AI's servers; content is never sold or used to train AI models.

Source: Captio AI privacy policy

Sovoro Plus
Partly: Cloud; data processed in the US

The privacy policy (in force since 14 May 2024) lists Amazon Web Services and Google LLC in the US as processors, and the data sent to Google includes the audio and video files users enter. The App Store label lists audio data linked to you. The app collects an advertising identifier for personalised ads.

Sources: Sovoro privacy policy (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Apple App Store listing

Account neededCaptio AI
Partly: Optional

Sign in with Apple or Google to sync, or skip and use it on one phone.

Source: Captio AI privacy policy

Sovoro Plus
Yes: Kakao, Naver or email

Sign up with a KakaoTalk or Naver account, or email, in the app or on the website. Sign-up is for ages 14 and up; younger users need a guardian's consent.

Sources: Sovoro support and FAQ (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Sovoro privacy policy (SOVORO (소리를보는통로))

Free planCaptio AI
Yes: 100 free credits a day + 3 summaries

Free every day: 100 free credits a day for live captions or transcription, and 3 AI summaries in total.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Captio AI for AI assistants (llms.txt)

Sovoro Plus
Partly: 14-day free trial, then a subscription

New members get a 14-day free trial of every feature. The website says nothing is charged automatically when it ends; to keep using Sovoro Plus you subscribe.

Sources: Sovoro support and FAQ (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Apple App Store listing

Paid plansCaptio AI
Yes: US$14.99/month or US$79.99/year

Captio AI Plus on the US App Store, October 2026. No free trial. Prices differ by country.

Source: Apple App Store listing

Sovoro Plus
Yes: KRW 9,900/month

Basic Monthly, KRW 9,900, Korean App Store in-app purchases, November 2026. The App Store listing describes one monthly plan. A 2024 payment guide mentioned monthly and yearly plans on the website; current website prices need a login.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Sovoro support and FAQ (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Sovoro payment guide (2024) (SOVORO (소리를보는통로))

Free through a government programmeCaptio AI
No

No government funding programme; see captioai.app/organizations for licences through an organisation.

Source: Captio AI for organizations

Sovoro Plus
Yes: KEAD 90% for workers; some schools

Deaf workers can get the 소보로 노트 bundle (Galaxy Tab A9+, microphones, 3 years of Sovoro) through KEAD's assistive technology programme: KRW 1,013,760, of which KEAD pays KRW 912,384 (all of it for basic livelihood recipients). For students, the SK Happiness Foundation says some provincial education offices support Sovoro Plus as an assistive device.

Sources: Sovoro support and FAQ (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), KEAD assistive technology mall: 소보로 노트 (보조공학기기 전용몰 (Korea Employment Agency for Persons with Disabilities)), KEAD assistive technology support (Korea Employment Agency for Persons with Disabilities (KEAD)), SK Happiness Foundation: captions for deaf students (Happiness Foundation (SK행복나눔재단), 세상파일)

Key differences

What actually sets them apart

Can Sovoro Plus caption a YouTube video or online lecture on my PC?

Yes. Sovoro's web app runs in a PC browser on the same account as your phone and captions sound playing on the computer, in a pop-up window you can move and resize; on Windows it needs a virtual audio cable set up first. On the phone, content captions do the same for videos. Captio AI has no PC version and doesn't caption audio playing on the phone, though it transcribes audio and video files you upload.

Sources: Sovoro guide: content captions (mobile) (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Sovoro website (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Sovoro guide: captions for videos on PC (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing, Sovoro support and FAQ (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Sovoro guide: live captions (mobile) (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Sovoro guide: live captions (PC) (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing, Audio Transcription (Captio AI)

Can Sovoro Plus translate English or Japanese into Korean?

No. It captions Korean, English or Japanese, but always in the language being spoken; its guide says the captions are not translated. Captio AI's Live Translator shows Korean next to the other language as people talk, in 60+ languages, with a two-way mode for a conversation between two languages.

Sources: Sovoro guide: live captions (mobile) (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Sovoro notice: Chinese captions ended (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), App Store data (South Korea) (Apple), Sovoro guide: live captions (PC) (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Apple App Store listing, Live Translator (Captio AI), Live Captions (Captio AI), Captio AI in Korean

What does Sovoro Plus cost in won once the free trial is over?

KRW 9,900 a month. Sign-up gives 14 days of every feature with nothing charged automatically at the end; after that, captions need the Basic Monthly plan, KRW 9,900 on the Korean App Store in November 2026. Captio AI skips the trial and keeps a free plan: 100 free credits a day, with no end date. Its Plus plan was priced at US$14.99 per month, or US$79.99 for a year, on the US App Store in October 2026.

Sources: Sovoro support and FAQ (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Apple App Store listing, Sovoro payment guide (2024) (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Apple App Store listing, Captio AI for AI assistants (llms.txt)

Will KEAD pay for Sovoro if I'm a deaf worker?

It can. Through KEAD's assistive technology programme, the 소보로 노트 bundle (a Galaxy Tab A9+, a wireless clip mic, an omnidirectional mic and 3 years of Sovoro) costs KRW 1,013,760, and KEAD pays all but KRW 101,376. For students, the SK Happiness Foundation says some provincial education offices support Sovoro Plus as an assistive device. Captio AI is not part of a Korean public programme; employers and schools can buy Captio AI Plus licences through captioai.app/organizations.

Sources: Sovoro support and FAQ (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), KEAD assistive technology mall: 소보로 노트 (보조공학기기 전용몰 (Korea Employment Agency for Persons with Disabilities)), KEAD assistive technology support (Korea Employment Agency for Persons with Disabilities (KEAD)), SK Happiness Foundation: captions for deaf students (Happiness Foundation (SK행복나눔재단), 세상파일), Captio AI for organizations

Does Sovoro Plus show who is talking in a meeting?

Only in uploaded files, which come back with speaker separation; its pages don't describe speaker labels in live captions. Captio AI tags each new voice as people speak, from one phone on the meeting table. On an iPhone, Recognize Voices swaps "Speaker 2" for a name you saved, like 팀장님, and on an iPhone 16 or newer Speaker Direction points to where in the room that voice is coming from.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Sovoro website (SOVORO (소리를보는통로)), Google Play listing, Apple App Store listing, Recognize voices (Captio AI) (Captio AI), Live Captions (Captio AI), Speaker direction (Captio AI) (Captio AI)

Honest take

Where each one wins

Where Sovoro Plus is the better choice

Where Captio AI is the better choice

Try Captio AI free

Which one should you use?

It depends on where you are

Sovoro Plus

An online lecture without subtitles on your laptop

Sovoro's web app captions sound playing on the computer in a pop-up window beside the video. Captio AI has no PC version.

Captions for this situation
Sovoro Plus

A deaf employee whose employer applies to KEAD

KEAD can pay 90% of the 소보로 노트 tablet bundle, with 3 years of Sovoro and two microphones included.

Captio AI

A team meeting where you need to know who said what

Captio AI labels each speaker live, names saved voices on iPhone and turns the meeting into an AI Summary. Sovoro separates speakers only in uploaded files.

Captions for this situation
Captio AI

A family dinner with an English-speaking son-in-law

Captio AI's Live Translator shows Korean and English side by side. Sovoro captions English, but doesn't translate it.

Captions for this situation
Captio AI

Recording at home when the doorbell rings

If someone rings while Captio AI is recording on an iPhone or iPad, Recognize Sounds drops [doorbell rings] into the text and the phone buzzes. Sovoro's feature lists have no sound alerts.

Either one

A hospital visit with a parent who is hard of hearing

Sovoro's conversation mode lets a parent who finds speaking hard type and be heard. Captio AI records the visit with sound, so you can replay what the doctor said, and lists the next steps as to-dos in a summary.

Captions for this situation
How we compare

Facts you can check, not opinions.

From their own pages

Every fact comes from the company's website, help pages, privacy policy or store listing. Tap any fact to see the page it comes from.

Checked 28 October 2026

Each source has the date we opened it. If a company doesn't say something publicly, the table says "Not stated" instead of guessing.

We make Captio AI

So it's described with the same rules as every other app, limits included, and each page says where the other app is the better choice.

Something out of date? hello@captioai.app

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

How much does Sovoro Plus cost per month in Korea?

On the Korean App Store, Basic Monthly is KRW 9,900 (November 2026); the website shows its own prices only after you log in. Bought through KEAD's assistive technology shop, the tablet bundle lists at KRW 1,013,760. With Captio AI you can stay at zero on 100 free credits a day; heavier use means Captio AI Plus, listed in October 2026 on the US App Store for US$14.99 monthly or US$79.99 yearly, and store prices vary from country to country.

Can a deaf student in Korea get Sovoro Plus through school?

The SK Happiness Foundation says some provincial education offices support Sovoro Plus as an assistive device, and that it was chosen for education office and NIA assistive device programmes; ask your education office or special education support centre. Captio AI isn't part of a Korean public programme, but schools can buy Captio AI Plus licences for students through captioai.app/organizations.

Does Sovoro Plus still caption Chinese?

No. Chinese captions were removed from the iPhone app in January 2025, and the mobile guide now lists Korean, English and Japanese. Captio AI captions Mandarin and Cantonese among its 60+ languages, and Korean too.

Can Sovoro Plus caption a phone call?

Not live: its guide says call captions aren't possible. You can upload a recorded call and get captions with speaker separation, within the 10 hours a month for files. Captio AI doesn't caption phone or video calls either; it is made for people talking in the room, and it can transcribe a recording you upload.

Can I use Sovoro Plus on a Samsung phone and a PC at the same time?

Yes. There is an Android app on Google Play and a web app for PC browsers on the same account, and the mobile app can be signed in on two devices at once. Captio AI runs on iPhone, iPad and Android, with no PC version.

Where does Sovoro Plus send my audio?

To the cloud. Its privacy policy lists Amazon Web Services and Google LLC in the US as processors, with the audio and video files users enter among the data sent to Google. Captio AI works in the cloud too, once you've agreed to it; under its privacy policy the audio isn't kept on Captio AI's servers, and what you record is never used to train AI models.

Which app suits a grandparent in Korea with age-related hearing loss?

Sovoro is made with older Koreans with hearing loss in mind: a Korean-only app, caption colours, sizes and fonts to choose, and Korean phone support. Captio AI captions Korean too, with large adjustable text, a free plan of 100 free credits a day, and, on iPhone, Recognize Voices so the family's names appear in the captions.

Try Captio AI

Free to start, iPhone and Android

Sources

Every page this comparison uses, with the date we checked it.

Captio AI

Sovoro Plus

Published 2 November 2026. App names and trademarks belong to their owners. This page is not affiliated with or endorsed by the companies it compares.