Captio AI

Captio AI vs UD Talk

Captio AI vs UD Talk (UDトーク): captions shared to an audience, the free version's rules for schools, voice data reuse, who is talking, offline use and price.

Facts checked on each company's own pages. How we compare

UD Talk

by Shamrock Records

iPhone, iPad, Android, Kindle; PC app for editing

vs

Captio AI

Our app

iPhone, iPad, Android

The short answer

Pick UD Talk if you are the one speaking or organising, at a lecture, an event or a city office, and want captions on a projector, in browsers and on other people's phones, with your own word list and people correcting mistakes live. Pick Captio AI if you are the deaf or hard of hearing person holding the phone and nobody will speak into a device for you: it captions the whole room, writes saved names on people's lines (iPhone), points to the side of the table a voice is on (iPhone 16 and later), and notes a ringing doorbell in the text.

Choose UD Talk if

you run a lecture, an event or a meeting and want the captions on a projector, in any browser and on every phone in the room, with registered words and helpers fixing mistakes as they appear.

Choose Captio AI if

you are the listener, not the organiser: one phone on the table labels each speaker, swaps a label for a saved name on iPhone, shows where a voice sits on iPhone 16 and later, and marks a doorbell in the captions.

Side by side

Captio AI vs UD Talk, feature by feature

Tap any fact to see the details and the page it comes from.

Captio AI vs UD Talk: features compared, facts checked 28 October 2026
Group conversationsCaptio AI
Partly: One phone: speaker labels, names, direction

One phone captions the whole table and labels each speaker. On iPhone it can name people by their voice, and on iPhone 16 and later a wave shows which side a voice comes from. Shared folders let several people add recordings to one place; live captions are not joined across phones.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Recognize voices (Captio AI) (Captio AI), Speaker direction (Captio AI) (Captio AI), Live Captions (Captio AI)

UD Talk
Yes: Captions shared to phones, browsers and projectors

A talk can be published with a QR code: other phones join to speak, only to read, or to correct mistakes. Publishing on the web shows it in any browser without the app, and a projector or full-screen view puts it on a big screen. Each person can also speak into their own phone.

Sources: App Store listing (Japan) (Apple App Store), Publish on the web (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Shared talks with editing (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Compact Plan (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), What is UD Talk? (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records)

Captions people in the roomCaptio AI
Yes, from the phone's microphone

Speech in the room appears as text while the person is still talking.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

UD Talk
Yes, tap to talk

Tap the Tap to talk button, speak, and tap again to stop; the words appear as text. UD Talk says it is built mainly for people who speak into it on purpose, such as a lecturer, and points listeners who just hold a phone to the iPhone's built-in Live Captions.

Sources: About UDTalk (English) (Shamrock Records), Live Captions and UD Talk (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), What is UD Talk? (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Using UD Talk in schools (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records)

Shows who is talkingCaptio AI
Yes, live and saved; names by voice on iPhone

Separates speakers (Speaker 1, Speaker 2). On iPhone it can learn saved voices and show their names instead.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Recognize voices (Captio AI) (Captio AI), Live Captions (Captio AI)

UD Talk
Partly: Name set on each phone; file tool labels up to 10

When each person speaks into their own phone, their lines carry the name set in that phone's UD Talk. Telling voices apart on one phone is not described; the developer suggests people say their name before they speak. The separate Subtitle Editor for files can label up to 10 speakers.

Sources: Can UD Talk tell who spoke? (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Subtitle Editor (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records)

Remembers people's voicesCaptio AI
Yes, Recognize Voices (iPhone)

Save someone's voice once (about 20 seconds of talking, or an audio file) and their name and emoji show on every line they say, live and in saved recordings, instead of "Speaker 2". Voiceprints are made on the iPhone and never uploaded. When someone new talks for a while, Captio AI asks who it is. Free plan: your own voice plus one other person; Plus: more people.

Source: Recognize voices (Captio AI) (Captio AI)

UD Talk
Not stated

A 2018 post said voice identification was not adopted. A later note on the same post says identification that needs advance registration has been added, without describing how it works.

Source: Can UD Talk tell who spoke? (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records)

Shows where a voice comes fromCaptio AI
Yes, on iPhone 16 and later

With the iPhone flat on the table, a wave grows at the edge of the captions on the side the voice comes from, in that speaker's colour, while new words appear. It uses the iPhone's spatial microphones (not AirPods or an external mic), works in Live Captions and Live Translator, is calculated on the phone, and is free.

Source: Speaker direction (Captio AI) (Captio AI)

UD Talk
Not stated

UD Talk's pages don't describe showing which direction a voice comes from.

Source: What is UD Talk? (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records)

Alerts for soundsCaptio AI
Yes, sounds in the captions; alerts vibrate

Recognize Sounds (iPhone and iPad) writes sounds into the captions where they happen, like [doorbell rings], in Live Captions, Live Translator and uploaded files. A doorbell, knocking, a smoke alarm, a siren, a phone ringing or a baby crying makes the phone vibrate, with a notification when the screen is locked during a recording. It works while Captio AI is recording, not as an always-on alarm. Recognized on the phone; free; not on Android yet.

Source: Recognize sounds (Captio AI) (Captio AI)

UD Talk
Not stated

UD Talk's pages don't describe alerts for sounds such as a doorbell or an alarm.

Sources: What is UD Talk? (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), App Store listing (Japan) (Apple App Store)

Add your own words and namesCaptio AI
Yes, words and names

Add names, medical terms or specialist words so they are recognised.

Source: Live Captions (Captio AI)

UD Talk
Yes, word registration and shared dictionaries

Words can be registered in the app or on a website, and public dictionaries can be switched per conversation. Registered words only work with the AmiVoice engine.

Sources: Five things few people know (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Public dictionaries and recording (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Word registration (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records)

Human captionersCaptio AI
No

Captions are automatic.

Source: Live Captions (Captio AI)

UD Talk
Partly: People correct live; partners staff events

Other phones and the Mac or Windows app can correct mistakes while captions run. For events, partner companies run UD Talk with editors and re-speakers, quoted individually.

Sources: Event partners (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Shared talks with editing (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Download page (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records)

Where speech is processedCaptio AI
Yes: Cloud; audio not stored on its servers

Speech is processed by third-party speech recognition after you agree. Audio is not stored on Captio AI's servers; content is never sold or used to train AI models.

Source: Captio AI privacy policy

UD Talk
Partly: Cloud; the free version reuses speech data

Speech is sent to servers for recognition. In the free version, your voice and the text made from it are collected and reused to improve recognition; the Compact Plan, corporate plans and the App Introduction Program discard voice data. On iPhone, the Apple On Device engine keeps recognition on the phone.

Sources: Terms of use (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Plans for organisations (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Compact Plan (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Five things few people know (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records)

Free planCaptio AI
Yes: 100 free credits a day + 3 summaries

Free every day: 100 free credits a day for live captions or transcription, and 3 AI summaries in total.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Captio AI for AI assistants (llms.txt)

UD Talk
Yes: Free, also for business; not for schools or city halls

Individuals and companies can use the free version, also commercially. Government offices, local authorities, schools and public facilities may not use it for their work, except for disaster prevention and evacuation shelters. Its voice data is reused, and support is the online manual only.

Sources: UD Talk home page (Shamrock Records), Terms of use (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Plans for organisations (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records)

Paid plansCaptio AI
Yes: US$14.99/month or US$79.99/year

Captio AI Plus on the US App Store, October 2026. No free trial. Prices differ by country.

Source: Apple App Store listing

UD Talk
Yes: Compact Plan ¥500/month or ¥300/week

In-app Compact Plan on the Japanese App Store, November 2026; Google Play lists the same. Corporate plans, per year before tax: ¥117,600 (small organisations), ¥216,000 (schools), ¥324,000 (standard, one site) or ¥888,000 (premium, no site limit), plus a setup fee.

Sources: App Store listing (Japan) (Apple App Store), Google Play listing (Japan), Compact Plan (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Corporate plans (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records)

Free through a government programmeCaptio AI
No

No government funding programme; see captioai.app/organizations for licences through an organisation.

Source: Captio AI for organizations

UD Talk
Partly: Free accounts for public bodies and interpreters

Not a government programme. Shamrock Records lends a free corporate account to government offices, local authorities, schools and public facilities that agree to be listed as users, and to sign language interpreters and summary writers registered with a local authority's dispatch service.

Sources: App Introduction Program (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Accounts for interpreters (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records)

Languages for live captionsCaptio AI
Yes: 60+ languages

Captions and translation in 60+ languages, including speech that switches languages mid-sentence.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

UD Talk
Yes: Japanese + other languages (173 settings, 2020 list)

Japanese uses the AmiVoice engine. In the free version, other languages use the phone's own speech recognition (Apple on iOS, Google on Android); paid plans use Google Cloud on both. A list of recognition and translation language settings published in December 2020 has 173 language and region entries; no newer count is published.

Sources: Technology (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Multilingual recognition on Android (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Language settings list (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Language list, 2020 (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records)

Live translationCaptio AI
Yes, live, two-way mode

Live translation next to the original captions, with a two-way mode where each person reads the other in their own language.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Translator (Captio AI)

UD Talk
Yes, live, with a re-translation check

Speech can be recognised in many languages and translated live. Re-translation back into your own language lets you check the result before relying on it. The free app uses Google Translate.

Sources: What is UD Talk? (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Technology (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), App Store listing (Japan) (Apple App Store)

Live captions without internetCaptio AI
Partly: Records offline, captions later

Live captions need internet. Without a connection it keeps recording and transcribes automatically when the phone is back online.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

UD Talk
Partly: iPhone only, with the Apple On Device engine

On iOS, switching to the Apple On Device engine captions without internet. Its FAQ says recognition and translation otherwise run on servers and need a connection.

Sources: Five things few people know (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), FAQ (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records)

Saves transcriptsCaptio AI
Yes, with audio, synced

Recordings are saved with their audio in a searchable library and synced to your account.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Captio AI privacy policy

UD Talk
Yes, logs; audio too on iPhone

Conversation logs stay in the app and older ones can be found by date. On iPhone, the audio can be saved with the talk and played back next to the text.

Sources: Conversation logs (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), What is UD Talk? (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Saving the audio (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Public dictionaries and recording (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records)

Export and shareCaptio AI
Yes: Text, link, PDF, email

Share a transcript or summary as text, a link, a PDF, an email, or a prompt for an AI chat.

Source: AI Summary (Captio AI)

UD Talk
Yes: Email or share logs, as text with times

Logs are sent by email or shared from the menu, as a list of text with timing information. A separate web tool turns them into subtitles.

Sources: Conversation logs (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), App Store listing (Japan) (Apple App Store), Subtitle Editor (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records)

Text size and coloursCaptio AI
Yes: Text size, colours, contrast

Text size, background colour and contrast can be adjusted.

Source: Live Captions (Captio AI)

UD Talk
Yes: UD fonts, colours, text size; kanji in hiragana

Readable UD fonts can be chosen, and the web view sets background colour, text size and whether speaker names show. Kanji a child has not learned yet can be shown in hiragana by school grade.

Sources: UD fonts (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Full-screen web view (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Technology (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records)

Captions video callsCaptio AI
No

It is not a video-call captioning service.

Source: Live Captions (Captio AI)

UD Talk
Partly: Captions sent into Zoom

One device set up with Zoom's caption token sends the captions into the meeting, with the name of the phone that spoke. A phone next to the computer can also caption the meeting audio.

Sources: Zoom set-up (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), UD Talk and Zoom (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records)

Works onCaptio AI
Yes: iPhone, iPad, Android

On the App Store (also listed for Apple silicon Macs and Apple Vision) and on Google Play since October 2026.

Sources: Apple App Store listing, Google Play listing

UD Talk
Yes: iPhone, iPad, Android, Kindle; PC app for editing

Apps for iPhone and iPad, Android and Amazon Kindle. The Mac and Windows apps show and correct captions but have no speech recognition of their own. The Japanese App Store also lists Apple Watch, Apple silicon Macs and Apple Vision.

Sources: App Store listing (Japan) (Apple App Store), Google Play listing (Japan), Download page (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), FAQ (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records)

Key differences

What actually sets them apart

Can UD Talk show captions to a whole audience?

Yes, that is what it is built around. A talk can be published with a QR code so other phones join, opened in any browser without the app, shown full screen on a projector, or sent into Zoom. Captio AI has no audience mode: it captions the room for the person holding the phone, labels who is speaking, and doesn't stream those live captions to anyone else's phone.

Sources: App Store listing (Japan) (Apple App Store), Publish on the web (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Shared talks with editing (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Compact Plan (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), What is UD Talk? (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Zoom set-up (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), UD Talk and Zoom (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Apple App Store listing, Recognize voices (Captio AI) (Captio AI), Speaker direction (Captio AI) (Captio AI), Live Captions (Captio AI)

Can schools and city halls use the free version of UD Talk?

No. UD Talk's terms bar government offices, local authorities, schools and public facilities from using the free version for their work, except for disaster prevention and evacuation shelters. They need a corporate plan, or the free App Introduction Program, which lists them publicly as users. A school or city office can try Captio AI on the same free plan as anyone else, 100 free credits a day, and buy licences for its deaf and hard of hearing staff or students, paid by invoice.

Sources: UD Talk home page (Shamrock Records), Terms of use (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Plans for organisations (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), App Introduction Program (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Accounts for interpreters (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Apple App Store listing, Captio AI for AI assistants (llms.txt), Captio AI for organizations

Does the free UD Talk reuse what I say?

Yes. In the free version, your voice and the text made from it are collected and reused to improve recognition; the Compact Plan and corporate plans discard voice data. Captio AI makes no such split between free and paid: under its privacy policy, its servers keep none of your audio, and nothing you record is used to train AI models.

Sources: Terms of use (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Plans for organisations (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Compact Plan (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Five things few people know (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Captio AI privacy policy

Does UD Talk know who is talking?

When each person speaks into their own phone, yes: their lines carry the name set on that phone. Telling voices apart on one phone isn't described, and the developer suggests people say their name before speaking. Captio AI needs no introductions: one phone gives each speaker a label, Recognize Voices on iPhone replaces the label with the name of someone whose voice you saved, and Speaker Direction on iPhone 16 and later marks the side of the table the voice is on.

Sources: Can UD Talk tell who spoke? (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Subtitle Editor (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Apple App Store listing, Recognize voices (Captio AI) (Captio AI), Live Captions (Captio AI), Speaker direction (Captio AI) (Captio AI)

Can UD Talk caption offline on an Android phone?

No, offline captions are iPhone only: there UD Talk can switch to the Apple On Device engine, and otherwise recognition and translation run on its servers. Captio AI's Live Captions need a connection on every phone; with no signal it records the conversation and writes the captions once the phone is online again.

Sources: Five things few people know (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), FAQ (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Apple App Store listing, Live Captions (Captio AI)

What does UD Talk's Compact Plan cost next to Captio AI Plus?

The Compact Plan is ¥500 a month or ¥300 a week on the Japanese App Store (November 2026); corporate plans cost ¥117,600 to ¥888,000 a year before tax, plus a setup fee. Captio AI Plus is priced in dollars: US$14.99 for a month or US$79.99 for a full year on the US App Store as of October 2026, and there's no free trial; without it, Captio AI allows 100 free credits a day.

Sources: App Store listing (Japan) (Apple App Store), Google Play listing (Japan), Compact Plan (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Corporate plans (UD Talk) (Shamrock Records), Apple App Store listing, Captio AI for AI assistants (llms.txt)

Honest take

Where each one wins

Where UD Talk is the better choice

Where Captio AI is the better choice

Try Captio AI free

Which one should you use?

It depends on where you are

UD Talk

Giving a lecture with captions on the screen behind you

Speak into UD Talk with your word list ready, and the captions go to the projector, to students' phones by QR code and to any browser.

Captions for this situation
UD Talk

A city hall or school that wants captions for staff and visitors

UD Talk has corporate plans with support, and a free App Introduction Program for public bodies; its free version can't be used for their work. Captio AI also offers licences for organisations, paid by invoice.

Either one

An office meeting you want minutes of

With UD Talk, each person speaks into their own phone and their name goes on their lines, ready to export. With Captio AI, one phone in the middle labels the speakers, names saved voices on iPhone, and afterwards writes the summary and the to-do list.

Captions for this situation
UD Talk

A Zoom webinar

UD Talk sends captions into the Zoom meeting with each speaker's name. Captio AI doesn't caption video calls.

Captio AI

Following family and friends at a busy table

UD Talk works best when people speak into it on purpose, and at a family table nobody will. Captio AI listens from one phone in the middle, puts saved names on people's lines on iPhone, and adds a direction wave on iPhone 16 and later.

Captions for this situation
UD Talk

An evacuation shelter after an earthquake

UD Talk's terms let local authorities use the free version at evacuation shelters, and on iPhone the Apple On Device engine works with no signal. Captio AI would only record there and add the captions later.

How we compare

Facts you can check, not opinions.

From their own pages

Every fact comes from the company's website, help pages, privacy policy or store listing. Tap any fact to see the page it comes from.

Checked 28 October 2026

Each source has the date we opened it. If a company doesn't say something publicly, the table says "Not stated" instead of guessing.

We make Captio AI

So it's described with the same rules as every other app, limits included, and each page says where the other app is the better choice.

Something out of date? hello@captioai.app

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Is UD Talk free for personal and business use?

Yes for both, and the free version may even be used commercially; only government offices, local authorities and schools are barred from using it for their work. The trade-off is that it reuses your voice data, and support is the online manual alone. Captio AI's free plan works differently: 100 free credits a day of captions, 3 AI summaries in total, and Captio AI Plus when you need more.

Can a Japanese university caption classes with the free UD Talk?

No. The terms bar schools from using the free version for teaching, so a university needs the education plan (¥216,000 a year before tax, plus setup) or the App Introduction Program. UD Talk's own advice is that the teacher speaks into it and students read along. Captio AI works from the student's side: their own phone captions the lecturer, and the recording can be summarised afterwards.

Does UD Talk caption English, Chinese or Korean?

Yes. Japanese uses the AmiVoice engine; in the free version other languages use the phone's own speech recognition, and translation uses Google Translate. A language list from 2020 has 173 language and region settings. Captio AI handles all three among its 60+ languages and can translate between them and Japanese live; its Japanese captions use kanji, hiragana and katakana.

Does UD Talk save the audio with the transcript?

On iPhone, yes: the audio is kept with the talk and plays back next to the text. On Android it keeps text logs. Logs can be emailed or shared with their times. Captio AI saves every recording with its audio, on iPhone and Android, synced to your account.

Can UD Talk put captions into a Zoom meeting?

Yes. One device set up with Zoom's caption token sends the captions into the meeting, with each phone's speaker name. Captio AI doesn't caption Zoom or other video calls; it captions the people in the room around you.

Does UD Talk work in a disaster with no signal?

On iPhone, switch to the Apple On Device engine and it captions offline; its terms also let local authorities use the free version at evacuation shelters. In a shelter without signal, Captio AI can only record, and it turns the recording into text once the phone finds a network again.

Can UD Talk tell family members apart at the dinner table?

Only if each person speaks into their own phone, which puts that phone's name on their lines. Captio AI tells them apart from a single phone in the middle of the table: Dad and your sister get their own labels, or their names once you've saved their voices on iPhone, and on iPhone 16 and later a wave points toward whoever is talking.

Will UD Talk tell me the doorbell is ringing?

UD Talk's pages don't describe sound alerts. If Captio AI is recording on an iPhone or iPad when the bell goes, Recognize Sounds writes [doorbell rings] into the captions at that moment and vibrates the phone three times; with the screen locked, a notification appears too.

Try Captio AI

Free to start, iPhone and Android

Sources

Every page this comparison uses, with the date we checked it.

Captio AI

UD Talk

Published 2 November 2026. App names and trademarks belong to their owners. This page is not affiliated with or endorsed by the companies it compares.